Shutting the computer down..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2007, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 192
Default Shutting the computer down.....

When i click shut down my computer it goes to this black page and says "Now its safe to turn you computer off" How do i get to where you just click that button and it shuts down?
__________________

__________________
Mount up with wings like eagles...
Xfire: clayster89
ClayKann101 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Shutting the computer down.....

Some computer/motherboards that are older do not have the ability to shutdown all the way or to do a hardware shutdown. I've seen this message on Windows 98 computers and might have on some XP ones. Is the computer in question the one on your sig?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Shutting the computer down.....

Encourage Windows XP to Power Off at Shutdown
1. Click Start, then click the Run command.
2. Type REGEDIT in the Open text box and click OK.
3. Navigate to the following Registry key: HKEY CURRENT USER\Control Panel\Desktop
4. Find the PowerOffActive entry in the right pane of the Registry Editor and double click on it.
5. In the Edit String dialog box, replace the 0 in the Value data text box with a 1, then click OK.
6. Restart the computer.

This does not work all the time as it depends on the type of hardware (motherboard) you have in your computer, but it won't hurt anything, so give it a try.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 07:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 192
Default Re: Shutting the computer down.....

Thanks alot man
__________________
Mount up with wings like eagles...
Xfire: clayster89
ClayKann101 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Shutting the computer down.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClayKann101 View Post
Thanks alot man
Does it work? Mines is set to "0" but it shuts down all the way.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 07:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Shutting the computer down.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Does it work? Mines is set to "0" but it shuts down all the way.
So is mine... lol...

I'm also curious if it worked.

It was just one of the first results from a Google search.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 07:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 192
Default Re: Shutting the computer down.....

No it didnt work but no big deal it used to but i reformatted now and it doesnt do it.
__________________
Mount up with wings like eagles...
Xfire: clayster89
ClayKann101 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 07:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Shutting the computer down.....

Maybe it's a bios setting?
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 08:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 192
Default Re: Shutting the computer down.....

Thats what i was thinking but o well
__________________

__________________
Mount up with wings like eagles...
Xfire: clayster89
ClayKann101 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Computer is shutting down for no reason andy345 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 07-19-2007 02:08 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.