Shuting Down Problem Help Quick Please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2006, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default Shuting Down Problem Help Quick Please

everytime i try to shut down my computer everything seems to be going fine and then once windows says "windows is shutting down" IT FREEZES MY COMPUTER?!?! anyone know the problem to this
(windows xp)

quest1on is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 01:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955

Moving this to the Windows forum...


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 01:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800

errm tried a spyware scan ..virus scan etc
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64

I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

when you get into your user profile (assuming you can), go to start -> run -> type "msconfig" and check the startup tab. Make sure all "unknown" things are disabled. Also press control+alt+delete and make sure all processes are OK and make sure its not over 35...
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396

well i tried wat u told me to do and this window keeps popin up saying something to change it back to normal or something i dont even know..
and i got another problem i woke up in the morning i tried to start up my computer and then nothing happened i pressed the power button the computer was on and justa blank screen nothing... so i tried again and it worked okay..... should i be worried about this problem? becuzz i dont want these problems to happen again..

quest1on is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.