shutdown/startup issues - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2004, 05:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

To be quite blunt, the XP firewall sucks. Since I can't customize settings in it, or leave certian ports unmonitored, it does less than nothing for me.

I'll disable ZA in MSconfig and see if it makes a difference.
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 06:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

agreed, it does suck, but until we can isolate what is causing this may need to use it temporarily.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 12:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

So far so good after disabling ZA pro on my computer.

side note: I just updated windows on the other computer (the one I'm posting from now) and the free ZA version it is running is suddenly operating slower as well. This computer is due to recieve the PSP2, mine however is not, and will need a third party firewall to replace ZA.

Could someone confirm a possible compatability problem with ZA and recent XP home and pro edition updates? Also, is PSP2 more likely to solve or compound this problem?
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 05:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

oh, sp2 has some problems... lot of people been posting about it. Haven't updated to it myself due to all the problems I've heard.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 06:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

i have zalarm pro 4.5.538.001 and all win xp pro updates except sp2 with no problems
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 06:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

MS Word just went suicidal... it keeps giving me this:

I REALLY need to get this fixed... preferably an hour ago.

ZA pro is running now, but I have to start up the computer first and then start ZA pro once Its had time to boot completely.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 11:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Cunjo I would just try reinstalling Windows. Looks like corruption to me
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 10:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

That is the last thing I wanted to do...

However, since my computer has apparently fallen terminally ill from it's microsoft infection, I think I'll have to take that advice.

Perhaps it's time to consider switching to linux; Windows XP seems to have a suicidal personality.

Unless anyone thinks I should do otherwise, I will probably write zeros to the drive this upcoming weekend and reformat/reinstall. The biggest problem, is that I don't have a 6-hour block of time (however divided) to spend reinstalling my system and everything else I need on it.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 03:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

I would stick to winXP, but this time use Symantec Ghost to save an image of your partition. You can use that to restore the image whenever your operating system becomes corrupted again. It takes very little time to set this up, but saves you hours of work and frustration.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 05:12 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default

I have Roxio Goback Deluxe that can create restore drives, however my problem is that my HDD is not big enough to hold the entirety of my local disk. Would Symantec's Ghost be able to work around that? (split to CDs or something)

I have a VERY limited budget for this, which is why I still have only 256MB of RAM, and don't have a DVD burner or larger HDD - I probably couldn't afford to get any more software unless I REALLY needed it, especially in the next few years of college.

If and when I DO have the money, I'll be replacing this laptop with a desktop, preferably an Amiga system. (anything to avoid becoming entwined in another microsoft horror story)
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.