shutdown/startup issues - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 09-12-2004, 05:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie

Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo

To be quite blunt, the XP firewall sucks. Since I can't customize settings in it, or leave certian ports unmonitored, it does less than nothing for me.

I'll disable ZA in MSconfig and see if it makes a difference.

Old 09-12-2004, 06:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie

agreed, it does suck, but until we can isolate what is causing this may need to use it temporarily.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
Old 09-14-2004, 12:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie

So far so good after disabling ZA pro on my computer.

side note: I just updated windows on the other computer (the one I'm posting from now) and the free ZA version it is running is suddenly operating slower as well. This computer is due to recieve the PSP2, mine however is not, and will need a third party firewall to replace ZA.

Could someone confirm a possible compatability problem with ZA and recent XP home and pro edition updates? Also, is PSP2 more likely to solve or compound this problem?
Old 09-14-2004, 05:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie

oh, sp2 has some problems... lot of people been posting about it. Haven't updated to it myself due to all the problems I've heard.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
Old 09-14-2004, 06:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie

i have zalarm pro 4.5.538.001 and all win xp pro updates except sp2 with no problems
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
Old 09-14-2004, 06:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie

MS Word just went suicidal... it keeps giving me this: