Shut Down takes looong time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2005, 03:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to salomon144
Default Shut Down takes looong time

hey, my comptuer takes about 5 mins to shut down. it used to shut down right when i clicked shutdown. but now it takes about 5 mins. and i recently reformatted my hd and still nothing. what eles can i do.

thanks
__________________

salomon144 is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 24
Default i understand

mine does the same thing used to take under a minute noe takes five min
__________________

kildemauhl is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 08:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Have you checked msconfig lately? Do you get error messages about shutdown?

http://aumha.org/win5/a/shtdwnxp.php
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to salomon144
Default

yea i check it alot bc of things that i dont want to start up and there is no error
salomon144 is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 09:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Corrputed drivers?

sfc /scannow
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to salomon144
Default

what is sfc /scannow?
salomon144 is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 03:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Sounds like you have a bunch of programs, that do something like 'crash' when you go to shutdown. Do you properly close them? I know sometimes i've seen stuff like AIM, when I go to close down my computer and I haven't exited AIM, it comes up with the window "Not Responding". Then I have to click end now.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 06:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by salomon144
what is sfc /scannow?
/scannow : Scans all protected system files immediately.

/scanonce : Scans all protected system files once.

/scanboot : Scans all protected system files every time the computer is restarted.

/revert : Returns the scan to its default operation.

/purgecache : Purges the Windows File Protection file cache and scans all protected system files immediately.

/cachesize=x : Sets the size, in MB, of the Windows File Protection file cache.

/? : Displays help at the command prompt.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 05:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to salomon144
Default

yea i have to close all the programs myself or eles it wont shut down at all. and after i shut everything down tehn i go to shutdown and wait 5 mins..
salomon144 is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 05:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Check for drivers. I was talking to several MS techs a few days ago on this issue. The problem in startup and shutdown is drivers. The longer it takes to terminate/initiate a driver the longer it takes to shutdown/startup. The drivers you have might be new, but they could also be promlematic. Uninstall the drivers, then install the latest known good ones from the site. not the latest dirvers they have, as they have not been tested enough to find all the problems. This should help you with your time problems.

Good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.