SHUT DOWN doesnt work - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 04:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Well i did this before, lets see. Right click on your desktop and select "NEW" then from the options select "SHORTCUT", click on the browse button and go to your "WINDOWS" folder select the file "RUNDLL32.EXE" then click the next button, type in a name for your new shortcut and click on finish.

After you see the new shortcut on your desktop right click on it and select properties there should be a line called target with "C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL.EXE" click on that line at the end and add "USER.EXE,EXITWINDOWS" the final line should look like this

C:\Windows\Rundll.exe User.exe,exitwindows

Click on apply or OK and then double click on the new icon.

Drworm2005.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 09:12 AM   #12 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
Is it second edition or first edition? Microsoft has a patch for this problem.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default Re: Re

Quote:
Originally posted by Velocity-Spaz
You should update if not. Really nothing we could do beside reinstall Windows...
If you going to Reinstall windows you should get
Windows XP Professional x64 Edtion
Why do you post this in every thread you respond to? Is Microsoft paying you for all this advertising or are you just ignorant? Posting useless garbage over and over just to get your post count up doesn't help the people coming here for solutions from someone who actually know what they're talking about.
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

1. I see a lot of you people trying to tell him how to force a shutdown, but I haven't seen a single person ask him about error messages or anything. Treat the problem, not the symptoms. Obviously he's got something messed up. Believe it or not, but Win98 is supposed to shut-down without you running a bunch of manual scripts, run-line commands, executables, etc. Michael you should try to pinpoint what could be cause the hang-up. It could be a service, a bad driver, fragmentation of the drive, memory problems, etc, etc. You may want to go ahead and reinstall anyway, just to smooth out any problems, as this can get rather lengthy, especially with Win98.

2.
Quote:
Originally posted by goyel
u will hav to reinstall
If yer gonna give a half-arsed answer, at least try to use some grammar. It doesn't do this person any good if you just spit out an off-wall answer using spelling that a 1st-grader would laugh at. Take that extra half-second, or don't answer at all.

3. If yer gonna complain about someone, at least try to answer the question of the thread first before you hijack it for other purposes.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

Oh, Im sorry. Try the unofficial 98 service pack. It seems to help a few problems, might help.
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 11:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by drworm2005
Well i did this before, lets see. Right click on your desktop and select "NEW" then from the options select "SHORTCUT", click on the browse button and go to your "WINDOWS" folder select the file "RUNDLL32.EXE" then click the next ...........
i did exactly likewhat u said.But it was found to be not working.

"It could be a service, a bad driver, fragmentation of the drive, memory problems, etc, etc."

I ran the scan disk;but no errors and the drive is not fragmented.Then about the drivers,well I dont know whether they r having a problm.How can I find it out exactly?All of my plug and play except modem is working properly(I hav posted a thread about the problms of my modem).
Should I reinstall all the drivers??

Oh, I forgot to say that standby mode and restart in MS-DOS mode are working properly.
micheal is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 12:18 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

I'm not running win98 at the moment so bare with me on this but it sounds like you may have some corrupted files, i'm thinking either"Rundll.exe, Rundll32.exe or some kind of file that links to the shutdown process not too sure on that one but it could be something like Shutdown.??? ?meaning i don't know the extention.

I would wait for some more help as i'm not sure about this on win98 but i was thinking you might be able to put your win98 CD in and Extract/unzip the files and replace them with the ones on your HDD.

Hope this helps.

Drworm2005.

[EDIT] about the drivers i would try to update as many as you can to the latest ones available for your OS &hardware.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 04:47 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by micheal
Then about the drivers,well I dont know whether they r having a problm.How can I find it out exactly?...........
go to device manager for checking the driver conditons.Upgrade drivers if reqrd.
But I dont think the problm is with driver.Sometimes files in the windows folder gets deleted for me(may be becoz of any malicious wares or something).so it will be better to replace files.

WAIT... hav u tried a reg backup?
__________________

lmte is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.