Should Switch to VISTA or not ?? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2007, 12:55 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Acton
Posts: 10
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Absolutely not. Lol.

Im having enough trouble getting rid of it. =\

I hate how it comes pre installed, and they dont give me an option for XP when I first purchase my laptop.

It's like giving me what I want, with a catch.
__________________

JayNich is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:13 PM   #32 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayNich View Post
Absolutely not. Lol.

Im having enough trouble getting rid of it. =\

I hate how it comes pre installed, and they dont give me an option for XP when I first purchase my laptop.

It's like giving me what I want, with a catch.
Just because you are having your problems with it doesnt mean other members here wont like it. You are solely basing your opinion on the fact you dont like Vista. Many members here like it and have used it for a long period of time and provided much detailed info to make a decision based off of facts not opinions.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 03:27 PM   #33 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Well, I do recommend using Windows Vista OS since of it's new features.

Parental Controls
View, Edit And Organize Pictures
Keep Devices In Sync
Newer And Quicker Search System
Also Windows Media Centre
Vanity is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 04:10 PM   #34 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

My laptop came with Vista. It ran okay after I gave it 5 minutes to fully boot up and settle down. But running 2 or more applications at once seemed to confuse the ever loving **** out of it.

I downgraded to XP Pro SP2 last night. I've done more last night with the incredible speed boost XP offers with multitasking than I've done for the month I've had the laptop with trying to tolerate Vista with it.

I'm running a dual core 64 Turion AMD processor, 2gb of RAM, 128mb (shared to 319mb) graphics card. It's a good laptop to run Vista on, so I don't know why I had the slowness I had.

Vista isn't bad, though... it just needs some help yet. I personally won't touch it again until SP1 is out... and even then I'll have to wait and see to decide whether I'll switch back over. But for the time being, I just can't possibly fathom using Vista when there's a more practical two lettered solution right here in front of me.

"XP"

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 05:58 PM   #35 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Again this comes from someone who has had issue with Vista originally. You have had issues with Vista since you got it and tried to make it do what you wanted but couldnt figure out how. I have a laptop with a AMD TL56 CPU and 1GB of RAM and it runs Vista jsut fine. No issues. It loads in a minute and runs everything from Outlook to IE to WMP with no lag at all.

It is a personal preference when you talk about speed. Some people are happy with Vista and dont mind waiting the extra minute or so comapred to XP. Trying to say Vista is slow is relative. I can give you a system which would make XP slow as well but work great with Windows 98. So trying to say Vista is slow is no real comparison when you can do that with any OS ever made.

As i have ALREADY stated. Vista SP1 is not going to give users what they want. It will not make Vista as fast as XP. It will not give people the performance they want. VISTA IS NOT XP!!!! 2 different sets of code. 2 Different OS's. If people think that that SP1 will give them some kind of massive speed boost you ahve another thing coming.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 10:25 PM   #36 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Geez, Makaveli, you sure like Vista, don't ya bud?

Looks like I'm sticking to XP for all eternity...
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 10:42 AM   #37 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 42
Send a message via MSN to optimist4613
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

I bought a pc with vista!

Seriously worst mistake of my life no offence to people with XP.

I need Xp desperately and i reli want to go to xp. Were could I get an XP disc from for cheap. I know loads of people have copys if so were can i get one from. Probarbly shouldn't be saying this lol
__________________
Dells are good for somethings bad for others! Not!
:freak:
optimist4613 is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 12:51 PM   #38 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayce View Post
Geez, Makaveli, you sure like Vista, don't ya bud?

Looks like I'm sticking to XP for all eternity...
No i dont use Vista right now to be honest. I just hate all the lies that are spread about it when i know for a fact that they are not true. All these news articels are written to just get attention. Everyone wants you to THINK that Vista is so bad. Thinking that maybe it will drive M$ to pull it. Wont happen. Cause in point the posted below you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by optimist4613 View Post
I bought a pc with vista!

Seriously worst mistake of my life no offence to people with XP.

I need Xp desperately and i reli want to go to xp. Were could I get an XP disc from for cheap. I know loads of people have copys if so were can i get one from. Probarbly shouldn't be saying this lol
Yet again another person with no knowledge or experience with Vista. When will it ever stop.

Check your local torrent site. Good luck with a serial though. Either that or XP is still available till June. Buy it. Since you just bought the PC you should have enough money to get a $80 piece of software.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 01:32 PM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
paintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 317
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

I recently bought a laptop with vista preinstalled
I gave it a chance but i hated it and put xp on it

dont do it, not yet at least
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Biostar T-Force 550
2GB Gskill Ram
250GB Western Digital
200GB Western Digital
2 DVD Burners
Apevia 500W PSU
XION Solaris Case
XFX GeForce 8600GT
Hanns∑G HG-191RP 19" 2ms Widescreen LCD
Ubuntu, Windows XP
________________________

Acer Aspire 5570-2609
paintballer is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 11:11 AM   #40 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

I know Vista is a solid OS, Makaveli. But the bottom line is, in a lot of cases currently out there right now... does it work? Sure, maybe it's a problem with Vista, it's not perfect. Maybe it's a driver problem, we all know they can suck too.

But the bottom line is, if it doesn't work... it doesn't work. Some people need an OS to be efficient and productive, and whether it's a driver issue or OS issue, if Vista can't provide the needed performance, then why bother??

I just talked to the IT Director at the local high school, where I just recently acquired an internship. I asked him out of curiosity what all Windows machines are running, he said XP. I said any sign of Vista in the future? He said oh no no no. He said I'll make sure all of the machines we buy in the future are Vista ready, with a minimal of 2gb of RAM, however I refuse to be the one to dive into Vista right now. No way. It needs more time.

Decent OS. High potential. **** poor status right now.
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
can you guys help me to switch to being an administrator on my windows vista machine rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-03-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.