Should Switch to VISTA or not ?? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2007, 05:49 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 65
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Seriously? I guess thats the price you pay for buying OEM.

Thanks for the info though, I might start getting into building my own for the uture, because I can see the appeal in building your own rig from the ground up.
__________________

__________________
============================================
Dell XPS 720 H2C Edition | Intel QX8650 Quad @ 3.66GHz | 2x Nvidia 8800GTX 768MB In SLi
4096MB 1066MHz DDR2 RAM | 2x 160GB 10,000RPM HDD In Raid0
1KW Dell PSU | Dell 2001FP 1600x1200
============================================
Highest 3DMark06: 17,281
Dell Boi is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 05:54 PM   #22 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

It is nice to build your own. Just remember doing so means you are also you own tech support. So you better make sure you are very familiar with HDD partition setup, formatting, install of OS's and everything else that could possibly go wrong. Like hardware hooked up wrong to the error code that the BIOS beeps.

Building isnt that hard but it is at the same time. Many people here are so familiar with it that they probably forgot the first machine they built and the troubles they had to overcome. Fear is always the first thing. But if youhave good knowledge of PC's you can build one easily.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:44 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 220
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Well with Server 2008 if you like the Classic theme you will love this install upon then. Cause upon install it is the classic theme with the Vista menus. That is all.

As far as the OC goes. With a stock cooler you are most likely at your limit. If you got liquid cooling or something else you could probably get it to about 3GHz. Maybe a bit higher. But after that it would get to unstable.
Yea. but who'd buy liquid cooling for socket 478.. !! 775'd be good..
Tech-man is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:47 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 220
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by forrestcupp View Post
That's good because your video card won't do Aero in Vista. You have to have at lease the nvidia 6000 series for that. It can handle Compiz/Fusion in Linux, though.

Quote:
Not really. There are some FX 5000 series and soime GO series that are not in the 6000 series that can do Aero. But for the most part anything beyond the 6000 series is what you would want. The cards below the 6000 series are few and far between.
I actually have tried ubuntu live cd, Compiz worked..
Tech-man is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:53 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 220
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today

This thread is shown under similar threads, In case any1 wants to check out.
Tech-man is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:55 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 220
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dell Boi View Post
Seriously? I guess thats the price you pay for buying OEM.

Thanks for the info though, I might start getting into building my own for the uture, because I can see the appeal in building your own rig from the ground up.
Most amazing thing is you'll have fun..research, compatibility, gathering parts and finally assembly.
Tech-man is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 02:26 AM   #27 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech-man View Post
I actually have tried ubuntu live cd, Compiz worked..
I would hope so. Compiz Fusion is a great tool and it has worked on several setups that i have used it on.

But overall you are getting the most out of your old CPU. there isnt much more you can do. Maybe a new fan not liquid cooling? That might help since it is probably getting to hot when you take it to 2.9 or higher.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 09:10 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
It is nice to build your own. Just remember doing so means you are also you own tech support.
I thought we were supposed to be everyone's instant, free, and unappreciated tech support.

That's what some people I know think I am, anyway.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:38 AM   #29 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by forrestcupp View Post
I thought we were supposed to be everyone's instant, free, and unappreciated tech support.

That's what some people I know think I am, anyway.
Yes that is true. We are everyone free tech support to those that know us and know we build PC for fun. Which is a down side. I hate those calls in teh middle of the night:

"My PC just crashed. What did you do?"

ME:

"Umm i was sleeping i did nothing what did you do?":laughing:
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 11:50 AM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

I like it. But then again I've liked it since beta 2. It does seem to test your patience a lot though.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
can you guys help me to switch to being an administrator on my windows vista machine rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-03-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.