Should i try to delete this... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 04:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default Should i try to delete this...

I had a problem with Norton 2006 last week. After a lot of work, i finially got the program uninstalled. I then did a search for symantec to see if anything was left on the computer. I found a folder at C>program files>common files>symantec shared. It is full of various things, like symlctnk.dll. I tried to rename it so i'd know if the computer needed it on startup, but when i tried to either delete the folder or rename it I was told I Didn't have access to it, that it was write protected or in use at the moment. Should I need symantec on my comptuer since Norton is gone? How can i delete it, should I delete it?
__________________

hdansjr is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I would delete Symantec Shared. That is just preferences left by Norton 2006.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

Check in Add / Remove Programs, and uninstall Symantec LiveUpdate (or something like that) as well if the entry still exists.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 05:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

I checked in the add/remove programs and there is no liveupdate or symantec or norton products left. I went into safe mode and renamed the folder and now i could delete it if i wanted too. Is there any other type of program that i cuold run to see if there is any symantec crap left on my computer, or should i just delete the folder?
hdansjr is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

Run the Symantec Norton Removal Tool. It should clean all the Symantec files and registry entries from your PC.

Go here: http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT...05033108162039

Or more conveniently, download and run symNRT from majorgeeks: http://www.majorgeeks.com/Norton_Rem...NRT_d4749.html
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

when i downloaded it from majorgeeks it stated it was an expired product and would not run. When i go to the direct link, and click on run tool, i get a pages that says this page cannot be displayed. what now?
hdansjr is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

ok...i found the same tool under symantec.com/autotools and ran it, but that folder is still there....
hdansjr is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 03:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Just delete it. You can also go into regedit (start menu > run > regedit) but only if you're comfortable with it and search for symantec. you can delete all entries. But I do stress it's not an option for everyone.
imation is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

I've never messed with the registry. Is there a program that i can run, and search for a symantec entry and delete it?
hdansjr is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

I did some searching....would downloading and running tweaknow regcleaner help me get rid of symantec entries?
__________________

hdansjr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.