Should i switch to Windows Vista? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2007, 10:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should i switch to Windows Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by techpro5238 View Post
Its funny because I ran Vista with under the minumum requirements and built in Graphics card on a laptop. Everything was against me but it was great, yea sure startup time was a little bit slow and sure it froze maybe once every 2 weeks but it was great. If your in a business enviorment then heck no dont get it as it has to many bugs (wait for SP1) but if you are a home user sure I say go ahead, just make sure to have the minumum requirement as I had my laptop overclocked and I sped everything to the brink of crashing
:laughing:

Gee get a laptop with minimal requiremetns and run XP. Bet cha it runs the same. Cant imagine why that is. Ohh yeah cause it is MINIMAL.

Lets see my laptop has been on and running for over a month. No freezes, with only a built in GFX card. Funny how YOUR laptop had all these issues but yet mine doesnt. Makes you think that maybe running UNDER MINIMAL could have been the problem. Dont ya think?

Please stop this SP1 ********. Cause that is all it is. All the hotfixes to make Vista work faster with SP1 are ALREADY AVAILABLE!! So why wait for SP1? So you can have the kernal be version 6.1 with a build number of 6001. To have the Search function removed from teh Start Menu? Yeah that makes sense.

Vista is just fine the way it is. Just cause you cant run it doesnt mean other people cant. Stop pawning off your problems on other people. Upgrade your system to AT LEAST MINIMAL specs and i bet you wotn have those issues.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 08:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 192
Default Re: Should i switch to Windows Vista?

One more thing , vista is really crappy with games ,specially some old ones , so you should keep this in mind .
__________________

weswes is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 09:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should i switch to Windows Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by weswes View Post
One more thing , vista is really crappy with games ,specially some old ones , so you should keep this in mind .
again bull$h1t3. I have had no issue running games from 2001 on my system. Diablo, Diablo II, Warcraft, Warcraft II and Starcraft all install and run just fine. They are all old. So this statement is wrong!!!!
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 10:05 AM   #14 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Should i switch to Windows Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
again bull$h1t3. I have had no issue running games from 2001 on my system. Diablo, Diablo II, Warcraft, Warcraft II and Starcraft all install and run just fine. They are all old. So this statement is wrong!!!!
But games run smoother under XP, that has been proven.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 10:53 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Should i switch to Windows Vista?

Should i switch to Windows Vista? No.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should i switch to Windows Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
But games run smoother under XP, that has been proven.
By at tops 2 FPS. That is the most lost. If you have a decent system you will not lost more than 2FPS a game. That is not that big of a deal. I have yet to find a game that i cant run under Vista just as easily as i can XP.

The Magazines that test this. Are all junk. They use a minimal testing rig that barely meets Vista requirements. So yeah of course teh games are gonna run better under XP. Most of the games were designed for XP. Halo 2 which was designed for VIsta runs better under Vista than with the XP hacks. Go figure.

The games that are designed and made to run under Vista work better under VIsta. That is such a shocker. No wonder the games that were DESIGNED for XP run better under XP. I would have never thought of that.

Give me a break. Just about every game that comes out from now on will be designed for Vista. They will run just fine under Vista. I have games from 2000 that run just fine in Vista as they do in XP. This arguement that XP i far greater than Vista is just utter bull.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Should i switch to Windows Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
again bull$h1t3. I have had no issue running games from 2001 on my system. Diablo, Diablo II, Warcraft, Warcraft II and Starcraft all install and run just fine. They are all old. So this statement is wrong!!!!
I have two things to say about that.
1. All of the games you listed are real time strategy games that don't require high speed, intensive 3D graphics.
2. You've stated that you have 3 GB of RAM which implies that you don't have a low-end system.

The OP will be trying to run on a low-end laptop with only 1 GB of RAM with a built in Intel graphics chip. Just because you don't have any problems on your above adequate machine doesn't mean that no one has problems. When you paint a picture to everyone that you can do anything you want in Vista with absolutely no problems as long as your machine meets the requirements, you are setting people up for failure. That makes people mad when they put their time and money into setting up their system only to find out the truth from experience after it's too late. It's not any different than the Linux people saying how great Linux is without telling people the downsides of it.

So I restate what I said earlier. If you aren't going to run Aero or be playing any high speed games, your system should do just fine with Vista. Go with that.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 01:20 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Default Re: Should i switch to Windows Vista?

Since my laptop is used mainly for schoolwork, photo editing etc. i guess i wont have too much problems with games. The only game i'd probably be running is starcraft lol.

Thanks for helping me out, i really appreciate it.
aricav05 is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 01:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Should i switch to Windows Vista?

for vista...i would wait till the Sp1 comes out.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
can you guys help me to switch to being an administrator on my windows vista machine rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-03-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.