should i put xp on my computer? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2006, 05:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

I had a dell with pentium 3 733mhz and 384mb of Rd ram at 400mhz. Xp prof. worked realy realy well no problems, and wasnt slow. My gf however has a pentium mmx 300mhz and 256 of ram.... i can tell u that the computer was hmmm... unbeleivably slow lol
__________________

__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 05:08 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fatrix
DONT INSTALL XP...as IT WILL RUIN UR REMAINING COU`s PERFORMANCE.......it better u stick with 98 or ME..........dont go or trt to install NT windows
riight...??? who says so??? whered u here it from? lol funny stuff tho
__________________

__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:03 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

just go ahead and see for yourself how it runs.....you be the judge....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:53 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

ok but i need another stick of 256mb of pc133 ram
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:58 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what you got will be fine....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 09:47 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

ok.... i guess i got to wait for my new hdd to come in...
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 10:01 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

how many slots you got in that mobo? I have 4 sticks of 128mb pc133 ready to go for you if you want them. Free
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 10:07 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

make that 7
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 10:15 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Question

yes, no, maybe?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 03:20 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fatrix
DONT INSTALL XP...as IT WILL RUIN UR REMAINING COU`s PERFORMANCE.......it better u stick with 98 or ME..........dont go or trt to install NT windows
You actually recommended ME? Wow. I think I'd rather have an OS that is a tiny bit slow, rather than have an OS that crashes everytime you boot.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.