should i put xp on my computer? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2006, 01:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i would upgrade. RAM is cheap, and SDRAM is even cheaper because its outdated.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 03:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

so anyone got a stick of 256 willing to give away then if it's cheap?
__________________

__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 04:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i dont think members on here have extra computer parts. Cant you order off ebay?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 2fast4u
so anyone got a stick of 256 willing to give away then if it's cheap?
256 what..ive got all kinds.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 03:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

pc133 sdram
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

SDRAM is more expensive than DDR over here.

Anyway, you should isntall XP on that system. It's definetely the best choice. You could also install 2000 if you want, but XP has better compatability and it boots faster. Less problems with XP. Disable themes and it will most likely run a bit faster than 2000.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 07:20 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

ok thanks for the tips people.. im going to install xp.. i just still need more ram!! lol im looking for a 256mb pc133 ram....
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 06:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

y not try buyin more ram and overclocking your CPU?
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 06:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

cause i dont have money.
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:58 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to fatrix
Default

DONT INSTALL XP...as IT WILL RUIN UR REMAINING COU`s PERFORMANCE.......it better u stick with 98 or ME..........dont go or trt to install NT windows
__________________

fatrix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.