shorted out/static shock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2005, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default shorted out/static shock

So, my problem did not go away, I still have static shock issues. The dog rubbed against the comp and poof, it shutdown and startred an endless reboot process.

So, I tried to reinstall XP or at least repair it, like I did last time, but this time I can't even get that far.

I get the blue screen that reads:

a problem has occured and windows has shutdown to prevent damage to your computer...

page_fault_in_nonpaged_area

(insert basic mumbo jumbo here)

STOP: 0x00000050 (0xf7000000, 0x000000000, 0xf700000000, 0x000000000)

So, I cannot load windows from the HDD let alone when I try to boot from disc.

Does this error message hold any clue as to what is wrong?

Help me fix this comp for good, please, I am seriously desperate.

EDIT: if this helps any, I can still get into BIOS, but I can't even get into safe mode.
__________________

ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

By looking at the error msg. It Sounds like your ram got fried. Your mobo still must be good if you can get into your BIOS. Get memtest86 and test your memory to see if it busted.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 08:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i have downloaded memtest, but do i need to mount it on a floppy or can i use a cd? i'll have to go buy a floppy if needed.

1 gig of OCZ memory gone, i'm crossing my fingers i can save one 512 stick.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

also, you may wanna check the grounding, make sure the mbd isn't grounding to the case. that might explain a few things.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Also OHgrFreak did the dog rub up against the components themself? or did it just rub against the exterior case?
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

yes, but see if the mbd is grounded to the case, then the static shock will actually harm the mbd via a shock to the case. usually it happens with a exposed screw mount not plast-i-clipped. So, what you get is a ground fault. Most common things seen are endless shutdown/reboots, the system shocks YOU (usually faulty wiring is also involved with that one, though), and outside interference. I would agree, however, that it sounds like the mem died. Especially after the above occured and he gets a page fault in non paged area. Those areas are usually for upper system functions and are addresses set aside ONLY for os functions.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
yes, but see if the mbd is grounded to the case, then the static shock will actually harm the mbd via a shock to the case. usually it happens with a exposed screw mount not plast-i-clipped. So, what you get is a ground fault. Most common things seen are endless shutdown/reboots, the system shocks YOU (usually faulty wiring is also involved with that one, though), and outside interference.
Wow I did not know that........ I didnt think a static shock to the exterior mattered.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I can if the mbd isn't grounding through the power cord. Happens every once in awhile. The most common is endless reboots (of course, problem with that is finding if its grounding, power supply, bios related, peripherial, driver, os/dll, real mode, etc.)
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

This shock/rebooting has happened before, but I always brought it back to life, could the past shocks messed with the memory and finally the mem just died with this last shock?

And yes, the dog is rubbing on the outside of the case when this happens. So, not only could the mem be damaged, but the mobo as well if not properly grounded? We will find out tomorrow, I just got back from buying some floppies and reading up on memtest and am not in the mood to mess with it tonight.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

your house might be illegally wired. buy a electrical circuit tester ($3.00 at a hardware). plug it in. the 2 yellow lights should come on.

for some reason in the sixties electricians just wired house without grounds (house before this were 2 wire houses, but the housing for the electrical socket was grounded. they just skip this step altogether in the 60's). nobody was ever held accountable for it either

that static should have shorted to ground if your dog touch the exterior of a computer case. the only way he could hurt anything was if your computer wasn't grounded properly.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.