Shortcuts Stop working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2005, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
QBA
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50
Default Shortcuts Stop working

I'm using Windows XP Pro and I open folders on my computer with shortcut like "Ctrl + Alt + "Letter key".

To get this to work I created hidden shortcuts on my Desktop and under: Properties/"Shortcut" tab/"Shortcut key" Field. I added a shortcut key, by then pressing this particular "shortcut key" the folder attach to the shortcut folder will open.

So far so good but once in a while out of the blue these shortcuts stop working all at once, restarting the computer ect doesn't fix the problem, the only way I found the shortcuts will start working again is by clearing the "shortcut key" field under Properties/"Shortcut" Tab then clicking ok, opening up properties again and adding once again the shortcut key on the "shortcut field"

Why Do I have to keep reentering the shortcut keys on the shortcut folders for this to work?

Any idea what can I do to prevent the shortcut command from stop working on the future?

Thanks

Alex
__________________

QBA is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
QBA
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50
Default

Sorry a little bit of update on my post, I think that I find out that once I restart my computer is when the shortcuts stop working

Any more ideas?
__________________

QBA is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

you need to put those shortcuts on the start menu. They should work after that.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
QBA
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50
Default

Thanks daappleby,

Do you mean to put the shortcut on the startup folder?
QBA is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 11:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
QBA
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50
Default

Guys nothing is working, everytime I restart my computer the shortcuts stop working all over again
QBA is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 10:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
QBA
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 50
Default

Thanks guys

a Thrid party application did the trick "HotKeyControl", now all the shortcuts are working even if I restart the computer
__________________

QBA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.