sharing files between a vista computer and an xp computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2007, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default sharing files between a vista computer and an xp computer

I am having a bit of trouble with sharing files between the computers in my house, all the computers show up from my computer (running vista) but from my dads computer (running xp) my computer doesn't even show up on the network. does anyone know how I can get my computer to show up on the network so I can share files?
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 05:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

run the network setup wizard, and join it to the same workgroup

you should be able to "C Share" into the computer regardless:
\\computer name\c$
__________________

__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

they are all on the same workgroup
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 05:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

can you ping it?
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

dont know how to do that
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

on the xp comp, go to [run] and type cmd
once the [cmd] box comes up, type "ipconfig" then press [enter]
get the IP address (should be 192.168....)

on one of the vista machines, type "ping 192.168...." (put the actual IP) then press [enter]
see if you get a response or a time out.
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 05:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I have this same problem...my vista pc can see the other xp pc but if I go to the xp pc it wont recognise the vista pc They are on the same workgroup and folders are open to be shared.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 01:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
I have this same problem...my vista pc can see the other xp pc but if I go to the xp pc it wont recognise the vista pc They are on the same workgroup and folders are open to be shared.
Had same problem. My old xp computer couldn't access my new vista computer but the vista computer could access the xp computer.

After over a week of troubleshooting I found the problem which I was going to uninstall anyway because I like to run AVG Free.

Problem was the stinking Mcafee that was preloaded on the vista computer.

Uninstalled it and my computers comunicate with no problems.
I am running AVG Free on both computers now with no problems.

The Mcafee wants to take over your computer which can really lead to some headaches!

Hope this helps.
lloyde6 is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 10:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I have gotten it to the point where xp can see the vista computers shared folders but can not access them
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 02:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

in the protocols list, make sure file and print sharing is turned on
also make sure client for microsoft networks is installed and turned on
__________________

__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.