Sharing a dialup connection - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2005, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Sharing a dialup connection

I am wondering if there is any way to share a dial up connection between two computers. The computer directly connected to the phone line is running xp home, while the other one is running xp pro. Both computers have an eithernet port in them, while one has the modem in it. Is it possible to access the internet on the second one with the first online? How do I go about setting this up?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

Installing ICS - Installing ICS on Windows XP
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I forgot to metion this. I dont have a hub or router, just thirty feet of cat5e cable.

I'll look into your suggestion csamuels
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 12:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

is the cat5 a crossover cable? if not you are going to run into problems creating a network between the two pcs.
office politics is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 12:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

You have to use a crossover cable. It is marked "crossover" on the side. A crossover cable is different than standard Cat5e.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 01:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Its a standard cat5e cable. Can some one show me a link of a crossover cable? Would I still get it to work with a standard cat5e cable?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 04:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Would this product from newegg work with sharing the internet connection from one computer to the other?

If I were to buy a router/hub, would that allow me to hook a cat5e cable from each computer to the hub, and share the connection?

This cable , would it work with just connecting the two network card to share the internet connection?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 04:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

You could always make a crossover cable from your cable, eh?

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 04:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

What is so different between a standard cat5e cable and a crossover cat5e cable? Is one going to allow me to share the internet connection, and the other one not allow me to?

What is the best option to share the internet connection and files between these two computers?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 04:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

the difference between the two cables, patch/straight & crossover, is the pinouts on each end. Patch/Straight have the same pinout config on each end, crossover has two pairs of wires switched from end to end. To make a crossover from your patch, some equiptment is going to be needed, a wire cutter, a crimper, and a empty rj45 plug.

crossover cables are used to connect "like devices" such as two computers, two or more hubs or switches (this makes the multiple devices act as one device).

the best option to share inet access is to buy a router and connect the machines with straight/patch cables. the router is an always on device so no worring whether or not you have to turn on the ICS host machine and is that machine connected to the net.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.