setup.exe files (delete or keep) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2005, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21
Default setup.exe files (delete or keep)

My Desktop is almost completely covered with icons. The problem is that with most Software (ZoneAlarm, Spybot, Privacy Guardian etc) that you download you have two icons, (1) The shortcut to open the program, and (2) The setup.exe file which is not a shortcut.

I was going to put all the setup.exe files in a folder on my desktop for safe keeping to clear up my Desktop but all it does is create a shortcut in the folder.

Do these .exe files serve a purpose anymore since the programs have been set up already or are they required to execute the program and run it.

Also with up-dates you sometimes get a second setup.exe file, I'm sure these can be deleted, ?can they also be deleted?
__________________

Kriskringle is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 11:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 439
Default

Yes it's fine to delete the setup files once you've installed the program. I don't keep any of my setup files, mostly because if I ever need them again, it's takes me only a couple of seconds to re-download them. A suggestion for the shortcuts would be to put them in the taskbar. Just right click on the taskbar, enable the quick launch toolbar (might be named something different on a mac right now), and then just drag the shortcuts down to the taskbar. Lock the taskbar once you're done so nothing is changed. Makes your desktop very nice and clean.
__________________

__________________
\"I have many layer-eight problems in my life, including myself.\"
Obtruse_Man4 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

i keep a little folder on my c: drive called "Setup Files" and I store them all int here. Granted I can easily download them again, but it's much more convinient to have them in one place. I do that on every computer I build, or computer in my house. It comes in quite handy sometimes. I often times download programs that would be useful to have, but it takes me needless amounts of time to find them on the net. This way, I know where they all are.

But yes, once installed, they are fine to delete.
Him is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 01:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Re: setup.exe files (delete or keep)

Quote:
Originally posted by Kriskringle

I was going to put all the setup.exe files in a folder on my desktop for safe keeping to clear up my Desktop but all it does is create a shortcut in the folder.

You cant just click, hold, and drag with *.exe's like that. Right click, hold, and drag. When you get to the destination and drop it, it will ask you if you want to Copy it here, move it here, or delete it. choose move, it is the same as Cut.
Him is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 02:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21
Default CHEERS

Good to know there fine to delete, lads.

HIM: nice wee tip about movin .exe files to a folder on the desktop. It's simple processes like this that you learn everyday that make all the difference, know matter how insignificant they may seem to others.
Kriskringle is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 02:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Exactly, people dont understand that little things like this can compound on each other and one could learn a great deal just by knowing something simple like this. Very few people understand the value of learning small things, clearly you do.

I'm glad i could be of service to you, and keep up your mindset about learning. It is a good way to be.

-Bones
Him is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I never save setup files, u usually run them.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.