Setup cannot copy the file 'blah.chm' etc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2005, 04:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Angry Setup cannot copy the file 'blah.chm' etc

Hi guys, new to the forums, here's my situation i need help quickly if poss.

Basically I have an athlon xp 1800+ and im trying to install xp on my hdd.
when i try and install XP it says 'cannot copy file blah.blah' all the time, please check your cd, ive done this with FOUR xp disks and none work.

The c: drive is a ms-ramdrive?????!!

sometimes i can goto d:\ by booting up off win98 floppy, sometimes I cant? but it shows in bios all the time.

if i try booting up normally without cd/floppy support it says 'NTLDR is missing'

Please help!

__________________

focuz is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 07:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

is that the name of the file? blah.chm?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 10:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

Warez monster...hahahehe good one.

is this a burnt copy of xp or an OEM ?

Did you clean all the rasberry jam off the bottom of the cd and fingerprints too.
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Default

Sounds like HD problem
__________________
John Cambece
jcambece is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

NO I do not think it is the hd, here is why. There are 2 parts of the win xp set up...TEXT and GUI. at the end of the text mode , xp will show you any previuos partitions it has found, where you can delete these partitions, so if in the first part of the setup when xp is copying files from the cd , they are going into ram, not the hd, again, if they went to the HD, they would be erased at the end of the first part if the partitions were deleted, and setup could not continue.
tractorboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.