Setup cannot copy the file 'blah.chm' etc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2005, 03:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Angry Setup cannot copy the file 'blah.chm' etc

Hi guys, new to the forums, here's my situation i need help quickly if poss.

Basically I have an athlon xp 1800+ and im trying to install xp on my hdd.
when i try and install XP it says 'cannot copy file blah.blah' all the time, please check your cd, ive done this with FOUR xp disks and none work.

The c: drive is a ms-ramdrive?????!!

sometimes i can goto d:\ by booting up off win98 floppy, sometimes I cant? but it shows in bios all the time.

if i try booting up normally without cd/floppy support it says 'NTLDR is missing'

Please help!


focuz is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 06:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

is that the name of the file? blah.chm?

Osiris is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 09:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319

Warez monster...hahahehe good one.

is this a burnt copy of xp or an OEM ?

Did you clean all the rasberry jam off the bottom of the cd and fingerprints too.
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 01:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97

Sounds like HD problem
John Cambece
jcambece is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319

NO I do not think it is the hd, here is why. There are 2 parts of the win xp set up...TEXT and GUI. at the end of the text mode , xp will show you any previuos partitions it has found, where you can delete these partitions, so if in the first part of the setup when xp is copying files from the cd , they are going into ram, not the hd, again, if they went to the HD, they would be erased at the end of the first part if the partitions were deleted, and setup could not continue.
tractorboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.