setting up a server? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2004, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Default setting up a server?

i have a dell server (win 2k) which hosts our website .. its connected to the router that has 14 other computesr
i wana format all the 14 computers and create individual accounts for xp so users can have individual usernames and passwords and their info can be saved on the server... is that possible?

can someon eplease tell me what to install on the server? i'm guessing win 2003 server... and what do i put on the other 14 computesr? and how do i set it up? any suggestions?

thanks in advance
__________________

delsol_ca is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Wrong section of the forum...
__________________

Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 09:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

you could use active directory, and unless each user has his OWN system, setup a roaming profile so when they goto the computer (regardless of where it is at) the profile follows depending on the user log/authentication. You also will setup permissions, etc. Explaining would take alot of time on how to setup groups and user as well as permissions, etc... best thing to do is a google for basic info for Active Directory.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

What he said. AD is very simple to setup and configure though. Took me all of 4 hours to build, setup and configure a test server that we are using to send our PXE boot requests. It's running AD native, DNS, DHCP, and a special program we are testing. Pretty cool and almost too easy.
Inaris is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Default

still kinda of confused about AD? ... i understand about DNS and DHCP server settings and what not... but what about the client computer? what os are they gona run?

thanks in advance...

a link to a tutorial from scratch would be greatly appriciated...
i have to get this up and running by this saturday...
delsol_ca is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 07:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

i wanted to do this a couple years back when xp came out...

i went to barnes n noble and did some reading...

it worked for me
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
rollincatera is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.