Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2008, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Default Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition

As the title reads for the past day or so i've been trying to set up a RAID 0 on my computer.
So far i have the raid drivers on a floppy disk and 2 HD set up. The only problem that i'm having is finding the BIOS setting about enabling RAID controllers. I couldn't find any words with raid in them, but i did enable IDE controllers. Also from reading on about going into the RAID bios settings by hitting F10 is it? i couldn't seem to get that working too.

So in summary my 2 problems are :

-Finding the BIOS setting enabling RAID controllers
and
-Finding the Flash/Raid Bios
__________________

blue4paper is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 08:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition

does your motherboard support IDE raid?

ie, whats your motherboard.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition

I would not suggest running RAID with IDE drives. You will not gain anything.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Default Re: Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition

Ah, well i guess i'll disable the IDE controllers, but i'm quite sure my motherboard enables RAID, i found the folder my motherboard cd rom. Although i'm bad with hardware stuff here is a picture and a file of the motherboard with the motherboard instructions in the raid folder.

Attached Files
File Type: txt README.TXT (16.8 KB, 139 views)
blue4paper is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition

well there's your problem... ecs... but yeah, ide raid isn't that neccisary unless you are bored and want to try something new...
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
I would not suggest running RAID with IDE drives. You will not gain anything.
I'd listen to mak if I were you.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition

Your mobo documentation says you can only set up RAID on the SATA drives.
Do you have at least 2 SATA drives in your rig?
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Default Re: Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition

heh, all i saw on mine were hitachi so i'm guessing they're not sata. Bah. Ah well at least now i know, thanks for the quick response though.
blue4paper is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition

you willl have problems if you raid 0 regular drives. you should only raid 0 scsi drives which were made more durable to withstand the half reliability hit that you get by running raid 0
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Default Re: Setting up Raid 0 on windows xp home edition

forget what i said in my previous post, one of my drives is SATA while the other one is IDE
__________________

blue4paper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
setting up scsi raid on server 2008 Peter.Cort Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-15-2008 01:32 PM
Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :) atomic tofu Microsoft Windows and Software 16 03-19-2008 06:11 PM
Download Windows Server 2008 Release Candidate Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:36 AM
friends log Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 11 11-25-2007 10:27 PM
How do I limit internet access on a limited account on Windows XP Home Edition? gmanr26 Internet Software and Browsers 3 04-02-2007 10:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.