Setting up partitions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2005, 01:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Setting up partitions

Hope this is right forum.
Anyways I set up a computer for my uncle for video editing but I only put 1 hard drive in it. Would I see a performance increase if I set it up with 4 partitions like
C: Windows
D: software
E: storage
F: swap file

Or maybe just 2 partitions
C: Windows
D: everything else

Or would it run just as fast if I just kept it 1 partition
C: Everything
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 01:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Setting up partitions

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
Hope this is right forum.
Anyways I set up a computer for my uncle for video editing but I only put 1 hard drive in it. Would I see a performance increase if I set it up with 4 partitions like
C: Windows
D: software
E: storage
F: swap file

Or maybe just 2 partitions
C: Windows
D: everything else

Or would it run just as fast if I just kept it 1 partition
C: Everything
your first setup is the best. except for one thing. your swap file. it really need to be at the beginning of the disc, which windows won't let you do, on the first hard drive. I'd go get a cheap 2-5 gig hard drive just for the swap file.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Would I notice much of a difference. My uncle likes to keep things simple but wants it to be fast. Is the 4 partitions worth it.

Also this is a sata 8mb cache drive, would a ata 100 2mb cache 40gig drive be better for the swap drive and extra storage?
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
Would I notice much of a difference. My uncle likes to keep things simple but wants it to be fast. Is the 4 partitions worth it.

Also this is a sata 8mb cache drive, would a ata 100 2mb cache 40gig drive be better for the swap drive and extra storage?
1. yes
2. I dunno. I have my page file on the beginning of my sata storage drive, but I have no OS on that drive.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 11:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Well he doesn't want more than 2 partitions would I be better with 2 or 1 partitions and how would I want to do everything if I went with 2.
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
Well he doesn't want more than 2 partitions would I be better with 2 or 1 partitions and how would I want to do everything if I went with 2.
partition is like a house. if a house has 4 rooms, would it be cleaner than a house with 1
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 05:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

I doubt a cheap 4gb type hard drive is going to yield decent performance compared to leaving the swap on a fast but large hard drive that you are booting off of. Most 4gb (or in that range) drives are 5400rpm, have little to no cache, and in generally are pretty slow.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 12:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheHeadFL
I doubt a cheap 4gb type hard drive is going to yield decent performance compared to leaving the swap on a fast but large hard drive that you are booting off of. Most 4gb (or in that range) drives are 5400rpm, have little to no cache, and in generally are pretty slow.
you are wrong. yes it would be better to get a 7200rpm drive.
but the swap file on a 5400 will give faster performance than a swap file within windows or a swap file somewhere else on the first hard drive (it's going to be spending time looking for it). windows just plain out got the swap file wrong (which it why it sometimes gives a goofy performance). it need to be at the begining of the hard drive, by itself in it's own partition. but windows won't let you put at the beginning of the first hard drive (linux does. for some reason windows has to be there and it won't let you install windows if the swap file is there). but it will let you put it at the beginnig of the second hard drive.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 01:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 57
Default

I do something similar but let me add a small partition for Internet Temp Directory.

C: Windows
D: software
E: storage
I: Ineternet Temp Files
S: swap file

Having the Internet Temp Files on a special partition keeps the Windows C partition from getting fragmented by the web files of surfing. Most overlook this option. I also rename the drives letters as you can see.
360Man is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 02:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 360Man
I do something similar but let me add a small partition for Internet Temp Directory.

C: Windows
D: software
E: storage
I: Ineternet Temp Files
S: swap file

Having the Internet Temp Files on a special partition keeps the Windows C partition from getting fragmented by the web files of surfing. Most overlook this option. I also rename the drives letters as you can see.

My set up
1 50 gig WD. 3 partitions (2C and a G). 2 20 and 1 10 gig (Dual boot OS, 1 Game Drive)

1 200 gig Maxtor. 2 partitions(L and M). 2 94.5 gigs (My Documents, My Movies)

1 160 gig seagate sata. 2 partitions(S and X). 1 3gig and 1 146 (Swap File and Xtra)

I like you idea for the internet temp file. I think that I will implement it.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.