setting up IIS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2005, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to drumlix18 Send a message via Yahoo to drumlix18
Default setting up IIS

well, i already have iis set up and running. my question is, how can i allow users to access my ip address to look at my sites? when i try it now, it prompts for a user and password. how can i get this to work? thanks!!
__________________

drumlix18 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 03:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

That should really be posted in the networking section. It is probably your router, and it may be set up to allow configuration from WAN, which must first be disabled in the router settings.

You then need to forward port 80 to the webserver, and give it a static IP address.

I am assuming you have a router.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to drumlix18 Send a message via Yahoo to drumlix18
Default

my apologies for posting in the wrong section.

are these steps that i can do by punching in the ip of my router and changing the settings there? yes, i do have a wireless rounter.
drumlix18 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Yeah just go to the router IP and go through the settings. You may actually have an option to assign your computers MAC address a static IP while still using DHCP, if you get me. That is easier than setting a static IP the normal way.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 08:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

you allow anonymous acess to remove the password.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.