Setting up dual OS with both being WinXP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2005, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Setting up dual OS with both being WinXP

I have 2 hd that I want to put in my new computer. I want to install Xp on both drives and have them work as basically 2 different computers. Reason being I want one for important stuff like business and school (40gb) and the other for games and downloads (160gb). I don't want the important stuff getting infected with viruses or anything.

I want to partition the 40gb (38 really) so it works as 10gb for the important stuff since it would just be papers and programs. Then the other 25 gb be shared. And 3gb for the swap file. I want the 25gb and 3gb partitions to be seen by both but I don't want the 10gb partition to be seen by the 160gb. Can this be done?

So does that sound good?
I don't need 2 license codes to do this, do I?
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 02:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
god
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 39
Default Re: Setting up dual OS with both being WinXP

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
I want to partition the 40gb (38 really) so it works as 10gb for the important stuff since it would just be papers and programs. Then the other 25 gb be shared. And 3gb for the swap file. I want the 25gb and 3gb partitions to be seen by both but I don't want the 10gb partition to be seen by the 160gb. Can this be done?

So does that sound good?
I don't need 2 license codes to do this, do I?
you could activate windows twice with one computer, and if they ask, you could tell them that its only installed on one computer, but im not sure if thats technically against the EULA. when you activate windows, it will have the same hardware profile *pretty much* and i believe you could do it.

as for the is it possible? i dont believe so, as far as i know windows xp wont install unless its on the primary partition/harddrive whatever you want to call it.

what do you need the 3 gigs of swap space for? windows does that for you?

im not sure what you mean here:
Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
I want to partition the 40gb (38 really) so it works as 10gb for the important stuff
__________________

god is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 03:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

You could make a 10GB partition for the Windows XP, and leave the rest of 40GB for business/school programs and files and the 160GB for games, movies, music, ect. And if you ever had to reinstall Windows on it all you would need to do is format the 10GB partition and leave the others as is.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 04:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Setting up dual OS with both being WinXP

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
I have 2 hd that I want to put in my new computer. I want to install Xp on both drives and have them work as basically 2 different computers. Reason being I want one for important stuff like business and school (40gb) and the other for games and downloads (160gb). I don't want the important stuff getting infected with viruses or anything.

I want to partition the 40gb (38 really) so it works as 10gb for the important stuff since it would just be papers and programs. Then the other 25 gb be shared. And 3gb for the swap file. I want the 25gb and 3gb partitions to be seen by both but I don't want the 10gb partition to be seen by the 160gb. Can this be done?

So does that sound good?
I don't need 2 license codes to do this, do I?
I would scrap the 3gb partition part of the first drive becuase it need to be at the front of the disc and xp just won't let you do it. I would put it at the first 3gb of the second hard drive though.

check this out. split the the 40gb into 2 20's. install xp on each one. you can dual boot it (you would have to go to disc management to set the other partition active), you might want to invest in partion magic if you go this route as it is simpler to do or you can install it the regular way which during when it boot you can pick which OS to run. it better to do dual boot as it will hide the windows files of the other OS.

you can activate both. I done this a million times. I use to dual boot the same xp. now I dual boot xp sp1 and media center edition

make the other 157 gb partiton drive, your documents drive for both systems
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.