?set the active partition? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2005, 07:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to IntelUser101
Default ?set the active partition?

okay, wasnt sure where this belonged but, story is that im trying to install mandrake 10.1 on my other hard drive..and have winxp pro and mandrake, so i try to use partition magic 8 to change the linux drive to linux ext3 and set my active partition to my xp drive(the one im currently using) before i save, exit, and restart..well it gets stuck on 66% and gives me an error, and then i have to restart and im trying to figure out if i can set my active partition on dos or safe mode or what..someone please help me
__________________

__________________
Smart at cell phones? help me out i accidently deleted my own cell phone\'s ##..yes i said DELETED, motorola v190, can u help? catch me on aim at usahed
IntelUser101 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 07:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: ?set the active partition?

Quote:
Originally posted by IntelUser101
okay, wasnt sure where this belonged but, story is that im trying to install mandrake 10.1 on my other hard drive..and have winxp pro and mandrake, so i try to use partition magic 8 to change the linux drive to linux ext3 and set my active partition to my xp drive(the one im currently using) before i save, exit, and restart..well it gets stuck on 66% and gives me an error, and then i have to restart and im trying to figure out if i can set my active partition on dos or safe mode or what..someone please help me
try to close all your app's running and then try, safe mode well try it.
__________________

TechNutopia is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 09:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Partition Magic (which I don't use so i'm not positive) should guide you through setting your active partition. Good old fashioned FDISK does that for you, so i'm sure that's how.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.