Services.exe Application Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2007, 08:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 242
Default Services.exe Application Error

Hi guys, I have a huge problem here. Mine and my brothers PC's are having the same error.

it says:

_____________________________
Services.exe - Application Error

<the instructions at "0x762188fa" referenced memory at "0x005f8018". The memory could not be "read".>

Click OK to terminate the program
Click CANCEL to debug the program
______________________________

when we click ok it brings up the error message again, and when we click cancel it brings up an NT shut down message with a count down.

I noticed when I start up our computers without the internet ethernet cable in we do not get this error...

please help, and I would really like to NOT reformat my Hard-drive.

thank you alot.
__________________

__________________
<a href= http://r.yuwie.com/yinyangerror>http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h2...uwieBanner.png</a>
Yin-Yang is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

I think your pc is infected

http://www.symantec.com/security_res...120814-2004-99

http://www.auditmypc.com/process/servics.asp

this program should take care of it. it is called the claener and is a full workinf version that works for 30 days ( trial period) that should be way longer than you will need it for.

http://www.download.com/3000-2239-10...age&tag=button

after installing, start the program , go into configuration , check the button to update on start up , close the program, open it up accept the update, it may or may not want to close sgain, then scan away.
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LA1
I think your pc is infected

http://www.symantec.com/security_res...120814-2004-99

http://www.auditmypc.com/process/servics.asp

this program should take care of it. it is called the claener and is a full workinf version that works for 30 days ( trial period) that should be way longer than you will need it for.

http://www.download.com/3000-2239-10...age&tag=button

after installing, start the program , go into configuration , check the button to update on start up , close the program, open it up accept the update, it may or may not want to close sgain, then scan away.
I will try that, but I miss typed the program up there. It is Services.EXE not servics.EXE.

but I will still try this. thank you for your response.
__________________
<a href= http://r.yuwie.com/yinyangerror>http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h2...uwieBanner.png</a>
Yin-Yang is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

oh that is different, that is a registered process of windows, although that too could be a trojan and more than likely is.
read the second paragraph

http://www.liutilities.com/products/...rary/services/
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 242
Default

and what exactly would be a fix. I'm getting really upset here.
I have been everywhere on google, and **** I even searched Yahoo.
__________________
<a href= http://r.yuwie.com/yinyangerror>http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h2...uwieBanner.png</a>
Yin-Yang is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 10:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

DL the cleaner, update the tojan defs and run it
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 10:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LA1
DL the cleaner, update the tojan defs and run it
problem mate, I can't start it with internet.
__________________
<a href= http://r.yuwie.com/yinyangerror>http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h2...uwieBanner.png</a>
Yin-Yang is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 11:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

what
i do not understand what you mean ?
you DL'd the program ? yes / no
you click on the prog , and it will not install ? yes / no
you try to update and it will not ? yes / no

if it is the update scenario and you have broad band , try safemode with networking, just for the update, run the scanner in real mode.
or
run the scanner with out the update, there are deffinition files built in, they may be a little stale, they also may already know about the trojan
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

reinstall your network cards
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.