Service pack is required - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2007, 06:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 63
Default Service pack is required

After dealling with some SP available to windows and seeing the mess they cause to the operation system, i started to research on how to bypass many softwares requirement to have such packs to continue the product installation but until now couldnt find a best option.
So, what is possibilly the best way to bypass this installation requirement(maybe some dll, registry keys)?
__________________

and_woox is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Service pack is required

slipstream the service pack and it doesn't cause problems
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 09:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Service pack is required

Other than that i would say check for software that is known to cause issue with the SP and make sure you uninstall it. I ahve gone from XP to SP1 to SP2 and now to SP3 without slipstreaming and i ahve yet to come across a problem. It is just easier to slipstream and avoid the issues though.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-12-2007, 09:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 63
Default Re: Service pack is required

actually what i'm trying to do is to avoid sp altogether.
i'm trying to bypass this requirement that some programs have on its installation.
So i'm thinking of ways to trick the installation to act as if the pc has already a service pack installed.
any thoughts?
and_woox is offline  
Old 10-12-2007, 10:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Service pack is required

Can you hack? Why is it everyone is so afraid of something that makes them more secure??? Seriously do you realize how many updates were released since SP1 that have patched the holes in your OS right now?

There is no way to trick the installers. Either you install the SP or you dont run the apps. Your choice.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-12-2007, 10:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Service pack is required

Why would you want to not install SP1 or 2? You can choose either to install SP or not run the programs.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major virus problem (hijackthis log) lancec2c30 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 08-30-2007 12:29 AM
Hijackthis-not sure of some items revenge2 HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 08-15-2007 08:27 AM
My log any idea? osaria HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 06-18-2007 03:05 PM
Weird clock issue wicked23 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-23-2007 12:48 PM
Spooler Service! ARGH Keystrokes Microsoft Windows and Software 9 04-13-2007 09:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.