service pack problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2007, 04:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 100
Default service pack problem

when i first got my computer, it ran all the service packs and windows updates fine. but when i installed my new video card and PSU, my CPU usage stayed really high. so i installed XP without any service packs, and it was fine , but i decided to try installing XP with service pack built in, and AGAIN my CPU usage is running high. whats the problem here?
btw, its a compaq sr1830nx. and i KNOW the hardware is fine because i ran it 7 months without the service pack and it was good,and that was with the GPU and PSU.
__________________

misterfatal is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

You know how you check the cpu usage ? instead of performance click processes and look at what is hogging the show.
or go through and end some,
you can also go to wininternals and download process explorer.
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 11:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 100
Default

just system idle process is 90%+, i downloaded task info, and it says interrupts time placeholder is the one hogging the cpu usage.
misterfatal is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 11:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

you might try
click start
then run
type msconfig
enter
click on the start up tab <<<< not services>>>>
try disabling all and see what happens, or a few
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 05:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 100
Default

nothing
misterfatal is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 05:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

so this copy of xp is it retail, oem ? burnt copy ?

the interrupts that are being generated could be from a failing peice of hardware.
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.