Service Pack 2... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2005, 11:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default Service Pack 2...

Alright, recently, I decided to install Service Pack 2 onto my laptop. No real reason, just figured it was time to update a little. And I must say, I'm not impressed. Talk about LAG! It's like running at about 25% CPU usage the whole time. The main 2 processes that are hogging resources are explorer.exe and taskmgr.exe. I think that's weird because neither should be taking up anything, especially when the computer is on idle. My friend and I lowered it to about 10% usuage total by eliminating unused services. That's better, but not good. It feels so laggy. I know the problem occures from Service Pack 2, because I've uninstalled and reinstalled it 2 times now, and when it was reverted back to SP1, it was the same as before.

Any advice? Anyone have a similar problem?
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 03:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04
Default

yea I had the same problem, sp2 monitors so much more of your computer now that it takes more cpu power. I dont use sp2 anymore. I see no point to it. Im getting ready to go back to linux anyway.
__________________

Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 06:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I dont seem to have that problem...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 10:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Well, I don't have it monitoring that much stuff I don't think. Very few things are running (18 processes). I'm completely stumped.

Also, now I have an actual reason to keep SP2 on my laptop. Visual Studio 2005 requires it. Does any one know a way that I could make Visual Studio 2005 work with SP1?
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 10:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I have sp2 and my cpu usage at idle right now fluctuates between 0 and 1%. Have you googled this problem yet? Have you run antivirus and spyware scans?
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You should slipstream it..works a lot better
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 12:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Well, I'm going to slipstream it if I can't get it working. But I don't want to have to reformat and start over. Not a big huge deal, but just don't want to. Could it have been the SP2 file that I downloaded? I wouldn't have thought it would have been a problem because I downloaded the 250mb+ file sometime in the summer, after it was the official release.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 12:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Some people have alot of problems with SP2, others like me who installed it on 4 different computers, never had any problems with it.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 12:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Some people have alot of problems with SP2, others like me who installed it on 4 different computers, never had any problems with it.
they usually have problems when you install it on top on sp1. you don't usually have problems on a fresh install
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 12:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default Re: Service Pack 2...

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
Alright, recently, I decided to install Service Pack 2 onto my laptop. No real reason, just figured it was time to update a little. And I must say, I'm not impressed. Talk about LAG! It's like running at about 25% CPU usage the whole time. The main 2 processes that are hogging resources are explorer.exe and taskmgr.exe. I think that's weird because neither should be taking up anything, especially when the computer is on idle. My friend and I lowered it to about 10% usuage total by eliminating unused services. That's better, but not good. It feels so laggy. I know the problem occures from Service Pack 2, because I've uninstalled and reinstalled it 2 times now, and when it was reverted back to SP1, it was the same as before.

Any advice? Anyone have a similar problem?

Thats why I tell everyone to uninstall SP2... especially if you game.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.