Service Pack 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2005, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to Phippy
Default Service Pack 2

Hi, I'm new, so please bear with me if I miss something. I did a search and didn't find this specific problem.

My question: I'm using XP Pro and when I try to install Service Pack 2, what I judge to be about 3/4 of the way through the installation, I get a fatal error message saying, "Permission Denied". It doesn't tell me which attempted acces was denied.

I am logged on as Administrator, so I'm at a loss for a permission problem.

Can anyone give me any suggestions?

I'm sure someone will ask, so let me say that I have an original, purchased by me, copy of XP Pro. I'm not using some pirated disk or key.

Thanks for your help,
Phil
__________________

Phippy is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Where are you download SP2 from? Log off as you and log on as an admin.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to Phippy
Default

I'm using the SP2 CD I ordered from Microsoft. My version only had SP1. As I said, I'm logged on as Aministrator during the installation. Just to be sure, I also downloaded it from windowsupdate and got the same message.

I set up two other accounts with admin status and tried installing under them. Same message.
Phippy is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=873148


What you can do if this dont work mis slipstream sp2 in your XP cd. Ever done that before?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to Phippy
Default

No I haven't, I'll try it now. Thanks for the link.
Phippy is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Use this:

http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=223562
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to Phippy
Default

About slipstream, I have no idea. I'm reading the link you posted and downloaded the installer. The Microsoft article held true for a bit, but I didn't find Error 5 in the suggested file.
Phippy is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 10:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

autostreamer is the way to go if you dont mind wiping out your system for about 45 minutes or so..
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 10:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
autostreamer is the way to go if you dont mind wiping out your system for about 45 minutes or so..
this is the simplest route (autostreamer). it's as simple as putting your xp disc in 1 cd rom and your sp2 in another and run the program. it will rip you an xp sp2 disc onto your hard drive as an .iso file. you can burn that as a disc image with alcohol, nero or roxio 5,6
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 10:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to Phippy
Default

That's no problem as long as it's restored. I'm taking the lazy man's way out because I've got so much crap on this comp that I don't want to have to transfer back.

Here in the hills of Tennessee, my only option is dialup. No DSL, no cable, and lousy sattelite reception (based on complaints from my neighbors, and line-of-sight wireless hasn't made it this far out of Memphis). So the idea of doing updates scares me.
__________________

Phippy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.