server, email, MSN errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2005, 04:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default server, email, MSN errors

I am having a few errors, one of which I didn't write down. I have googled these items and came up with server problems and the like, but no fixes.

First error stopping me from sending and getting any emails through MSN is: Error Code: 0x80072efe

Second error stopping me from updating windows or any other programs is: 0x80072EE2

I hope I can even post this, my other comp refused to post and this comp can't send/recieve emails either.

P.S. MSN and microsoft blows.

This problem is constant almost and eats up a good 6-8 hours a day of being unable to update anything.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

that sounds like a virus to me. There is one that causes just those errors, if you have an av scanner try to update it, last I heard the virus diables that too. If that is the case then you need to go to here If you cant get there then you need to format and re-install.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I did use panda's online virus scanner and that didn't find anything, i also spyware and adware scanned. I will try trendmicro. Thanks for the link. I'll try it and get back.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 05:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I ran the trendmicro housecall you suggested, and it found nothing.

And by format and reinstall, you mean I have to wipe my drive clean and install XP for the upteenth time?

How about this... Is there a virus removal tool somewhere that removes this very virus that I can download on this comp and then move it to my tainted comp?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

try here http://securityresponse.symantec.com...oval.tool.html
I think that is the one the does what you are describing. If not do a re-install of ie or get firefox, netscape 8, opera, etc. etc. etc.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 06:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i'll try that link next, if that doesn't work, i'll try reinstalling MSN and IE, those are the only browsers on my comp. I like mozilla's firefox and use it often on this computer, so I'll go ahead and download it on my other comp.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 07:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

so the tool did not find any virus, but asked me if i would like to view some security fixes. i ran microsoft's baseline security analyzer and updated office 2003, upon reboot, everthing works fine.

odd stuff.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 07:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

very odd. at least its fixed.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 07:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

thanks for the help, i appreciate it.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 07:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

not that I helped much, but your welcome.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.