server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2004, 06:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default server

im gettin my server up and runnin soon. is there any point in me gettin windows aerver 2003 for it or is xp pro enough? whats the differences? its only a 400.
__________________

aj2003 is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 12:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Hmmmm, lots of questions. Lets start with something simple...

What are you going to be using it for?
What kind of network are you implementing?
Network wise....Domain or Workgroup?
Are you going to need any strong IIS modules loaded?
What are some more specific specs of this computer?

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 02:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ok here we go,
brothers:
1.2 thunderbird
256 sdram
10gig HDD
geforece 2 64mb
onboard sound

server
400 amd k7 i think
320sdram
40gig HDD
onboard graphics

it mainly gonna be used for files sharin between comps, also for dsl connection and wen mine comp is on for printer sharing aswel.
what kind of network? not sure what u mean but it at home and i already conect my 2700xp to my server for ne access cos i leave it on downloadin as my main comp is full of lights a stuff, (it in my room)
dunno whay u mean IIS modules?

thanks for your help
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 01:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I would personally get Win 2000. For a basic file/print/internet sharing tool, you'll find that 2000 will work for your needs much better than XP. XP has a lot of bells and whistles that will initially slow down performance with the kind of computer that you are placing it on. And 2003 is more expensive and totally unncesesary.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 07:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

u can shut off the bells and whistles so to speak in xp, rite click my computer, properties, advanced tab, performance, settings, visual whatever and uncheck all the boxes and change to classic view, also msconfig and get rid of ne unnecessary programs and services.
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 04:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I realize this, but as a network file/print/internet sharing tool, I'd still go with 2000. Less, configuration and the internet firewall for XP (even though you can turn it off) causes so many networking problems....just look in the networking forum every day....I see at least 2 of these a day.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.