Serious Vista Network problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2007, 02:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 110
Default Serious Vista Network problem

Hello Everyone first of all thank you for taking the time to read this
(i have vista home premium)
I got my laptop about 2months ago now and I can connect to the internet just fin eat my home, with a westel versalink wireless router..now whenever I take it anywhere else that has a wireless router (my friends houses) it never works there..for some reason it will always say the router has excellent signal strength
but when I try to connect there is an issue

It says it cant connect and when I diagnose the problem it says not getting any response from the router..the wierd thing is , is that both routers at my friends house are the exact same as mine at home and they have the same ISP as me?

I dont know what to do I even ran through all the trouble shooting advice like check for interference and so on..

Not sure if this has anything to do with it but when I set up a network with my home computer ..lets say my home computer is c1 and my laptop is c2 I can access files from c1 to c2 but not c2 to c1 ..this is strange but not sure if this is related as it is said to be an ISP problem

Ok well thank you so much for any help ..I will be very gratefull!!
__________________

__________________
]MY LAPTOP=
Compaq Pressario V6000
an average laptop with Dual Core Processors
1gig of ram, up to 124mb dedicated to games
Nvidia GeForceGo 6150 15.5screen and a 6cell
battery
Games:1)WoW 2)Fable (currently bugged) 3)Age of Mythology
Shane12m is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 02:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 110
Default Re: Serious Vista Network problem

does no one know?
__________________

__________________
]MY LAPTOP=
Compaq Pressario V6000
an average laptop with Dual Core Processors
1gig of ram, up to 124mb dedicated to games
Nvidia GeForceGo 6150 15.5screen and a 6cell
battery
Games:1)WoW 2)Fable (currently bugged) 3)Age of Mythology
Shane12m is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Serious Vista Network problem

Do you have your laptop set to a static IP address or automatic (DHCP)?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 110
Default Re: Serious Vista Network problem

I don't know how do i tell and what should it be set to>? THANKS
__________________
]MY LAPTOP=
Compaq Pressario V6000
an average laptop with Dual Core Processors
1gig of ram, up to 124mb dedicated to games
Nvidia GeForceGo 6150 15.5screen and a 6cell
battery
Games:1)WoW 2)Fable (currently bugged) 3)Age of Mythology
Shane12m is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Serious Vista Network problem

Okay let me ask this. Since you set up the network does you laptop find anything like open access points or anything like that? Do you ahve the WiFi enabled for access on any network?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Serious Vista Network problem

These guides should help you out. They give you the inside scoop on how to connect Vista to Wireless Networks.

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/tec...y/default.aspx
The Cable Guy - April 2006

Even more stuff here:

Windows Vista Networking

That shoudl give you all the info you need.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 07:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 110
Default Re: Serious Vista Network problem

Thanks but none of that really makes since to me ..I was able to auto connect to my router the first time it was turned on ..no prob but not at anyones house?
I understand the part where the router could be set to not send signals but at the same time I dont understand because i cant just change thier configs its not mine

Sorry im not very smart with this stuff
Thanks
__________________
]MY LAPTOP=
Compaq Pressario V6000
an average laptop with Dual Core Processors
1gig of ram, up to 124mb dedicated to games
Nvidia GeForceGo 6150 15.5screen and a 6cell
battery
Games:1)WoW 2)Fable (currently bugged) 3)Age of Mythology
Shane12m is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 08:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Serious Vista Network problem

You might not have the WEP key to get signal from his router. At the same time you have to have Vista setup to actively scan for new networks when you are at his house.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Vista Death Watch EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 112 11-20-2007 12:20 PM
serious usb problem calsonic Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-31-2007 12:44 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Problem with Belkin Wirless Network Adapter Athlon Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 05-06-2007 02:07 PM
Vista Laptop won't connect to XP network printer thesteeles Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 04-20-2007 01:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.