Serial code can i use twice leagaly? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2006, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 113
Default Serial code can i use twice leagaly?

so i got windows proffessional cd with my code ect ect installed on my pc, can i use the same code to install it on my laptop which is myn but i use it at work???

would this get my code blocked (would fail validation test) if i used the same code twice?? how do microsoft determine if a code has been used twice/three/four times and then u fail the validation proccess on there site??

thanks
__________________

06Skywalker is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 12:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

well the verification is done via windows update and u wont get caught unless u allow automatic updates just turn updates so u can view them first and once u see the update wga (windows genuine advantage) do not download and set it to allows deny this download and u can turn automatic updates on or maybe its winlogon i think thats the one my firneds and i (about 20 of us) use the same version of windows and u rarely have to dowload anything of the windows website that doesnt ge sent to u automaticaly or can get somewhere else
__________________

__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

an51r, you didn't have to give out that much information.

06Skywalker, most of the license you retain as a home user is that you can only install it on one machine. 1 license on 1 machine.
Law is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 113
Default

o.k guys thanks for the help
06Skywalker is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

i apologize law i didnt realize this info was unecessary i was only trying to help
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by an51r
i apologize law i didnt realize this info was unecessary i was only trying to help
Part of your info, like the part about you and your friend sharing the same copy, you didn't really need to tell us that.

We appreciate your help here. TF is always looking for good members.
Law is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 01:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

i have used a home version serial on 2 or 3 different computers and all was fine but if you ever need to reinstall, most of the time you will need to call ms to get it fixed and just tell them you had to reinstall your os for the 4 th time
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 02:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

If you have a corperate version, you can use the same license for multiple computers, can't you?
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 02:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by __Camouflage__
If you have a corperate version, you can use the same license for multiple computers, can't you?
Yes, most school districts, colleges and businesses buy these volume license that allows them to use the same key on multiple workstations. But it's expensive and any home users using it, usually mean it's stolen or leaked onto the Internet.
Law is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 03:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
Yes, most school districts, colleges and businesses buy these volume license that allows them to use the same key on multiple workstations. But it's expensive and any home users using it, usually mean it's stolen or leaked onto the Internet.
That's what I thought, just wanted to clarify.
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.