Sending files while using Trillian - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2003, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default Sending files while using Trillian

I've used Trillian Pro for quite sometime. I use MSN Messenger thru Trillian. Anyway, I used to be able to send and receive files using my Messenger via Trillian. Now I can't. The only change to the system has been that I went from Windows 98 to Windows XP Pro.

So now there is something blocking me from sending files thru Messenger. I can't send it if I start Messenger, nor when I start Messenger via Trillian.

Any help for changing that?

Dave
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 07-22-2003, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Talking Internet Connection Firewall

Well, Being a fellow user of XP, the same thing happened from 98 to XP Home. In this aspect, XP Home and Pro will do the same. So what you do is you go to your connection to the Internet, go under properties, and then look at the advanced tab. There will be a check off about "protect.." something or other, as I'm not on my computer wit' XP Home.

you can do that, and it will flow freely, OR you could manually mess around with the advanced settings from the settings button..

All depending on how you want it to work.
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 07-22-2003, 04:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

I had the same thing happen to me, and got tired of messing with it, so now I am using MSN 6, it does the job.

Although I miss having all of my IMs in one place.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 07-22-2003, 05:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

I think he may be right, check and see if the firewall is turned on in the Network connection.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 07-22-2003, 05:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

There is no firewall enabled under network connections.

When looking at the advanced tab of Internet Options (properties), I don't see a "protect" anything.

<-- That's me. LoL!

Anything else?

Dave
Dave is offline  
Old 07-23-2003, 11:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Next time I'm gonna upload a graphic, because sometimes i say things a bit wierd/
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 07-23-2003, 11:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Here is what it looks like for those who need a visual aid...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3000 posts.jpg (16.5 KB, 315 views)
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 07-24-2003, 06:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

Pictures work good for us that are technologically impaired! Me.

Anyway, I went to Control Panel > Network & Internet Connections > Internet Options and checked out all the tabs, including General, Security, Privacy, Content, Connections, Programs, Advanced. I didn't see the "protect" area like in the pic.

I am able to receive files, pics, whatever, from others. But I'm not able to send them anything. When I try to send, the other person gets that it's trying to do a file transfer, but then they get "Error during file transfer" and it ends. My end says it's still trying to connect.

My version of Trillian is 1.0B.

Does any of that help?

Dave
Dave is offline  
Old 07-24-2003, 06:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Do you have a direct connection to the internet, or are you behind a firewall/router/Internet Connection Sharing/etc? I had a similar thing happen when I upgraded my server to Windows XP (using internet connection sharing).. I was no longer able to send files via MSN, and occasionally FTP wouldn't work for me either.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 07-24-2003, 08:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

Quote:
Do you have a direct connection to the internet, or are you behind a firewall/router/Internet Connection Sharing/etc?
I have a direct connection via cable with Charter. That hasn't changed.

Quote:
Click the start button...then the Connect to tab.
Geemyknee! I wish I would even see the Connect. Sorry, but I'm still lost here.

Dave

Edit Note: I just went into Control Panel and clicked on Network Connections. The Advanced tab had the "protect" enabled. I unchecked it. I will be testing it soon to see if I can send files.

__________________

Dave is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.