Self Rebooting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 08:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Self Rebooting

I'm not having much luck recently, I have 3 computers that I'm using and I have problems with all 3

XP Home SP2
Kaspersky 6
Outpost 1.0
Ewido
Firefox (extensions:noscript, adblock el al)

The one in my sig has started rebooting itself, note I've taken it back to standard clocks. I can't rule out a hardware problem yet but I can't see any obvious hardware cause.

I've run Memtest86 for a few hours with no problems and the same goes for prime95 torture test. The processor is running at about half of the recommended maximum temperature.

Now the reason i've posted this here rather than the hardware forums is that the reboots only occur when i'm doing something related to networking/internet. I can run computer games all day long with no problems but if I play with my network settings or browse the internet I get hard reboots.

What could be causing this? there's no clues in the event viewer and prior to the last crash I turned on DrWatson, the .dmp file was just full of references to kaspersky files and processes.

Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 10:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

Make sure u got all updates to your computer, reinstall ur network card drivers.
__________________

__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 10:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Try turning off auto reboot on error so you will be able to see the error code.
mfar8055 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mfar8055
Try turning off auto reboot on error so you will be able to see the error code.
How do I do this?

p.s. I'll reinstall my network card.. I'll also take the second one out just incase thats causing a problem.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.