Security 4 Vista???????????????????????????/ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2007, 07:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Lightbulb Security 4 Vista???????????????????????????/

hello, i hav vista ultimate, and and one of my 1st priorities is to keep my pc safe. i know that zonealarm is not yet compatible for vista so thats a bummer.so basically i want sum advice on wat security software 2 buy for vista($ is not a probelm)

i want progranms for anit-virus and firewall or security suite, i hav tried norton 360 and i didnt like it i wanna try ms live onecare but i dont trust ms so much

so yeah i good awsome reilable software 4 vista
__________________

lilmil is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 08:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Re: Security 4 Vista???????????????????????????/

TrendMicro has a good suite
__________________

ECTech is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Security 4 Vista???????????????????????????/

avast already suports vista

see also
Windows Vista Security Software Providers
mocho is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 02:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mBernhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 279
Default Re: Security 4 Vista???????????????????????????/

I have avast running nicely on Vista Home Premium.
__________________
"i would never use a firewall, even without a router protecting me. Firewalls are just wastes of memory."
name omitted to protect the innocent

the cake is a lie
mBernhardt is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 03:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Security 4 Vista???????????????????????????/

avast is also free
maroon1 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Security 4 Vista???????????????????????????/

Hello,

I've been running Avast. Flawless. Don't even notice it's there!

Windows Vista already has Windows Defender (spyware / adware scanner) as well as a firewall (enabled by default) so an anti-virus program is really all you need in addition.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 10:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Security 4 Vista???????????????????????????/

Alvin is correct. With Defender running already the only thing you realy need is a Anti-Virus. Avast is one of the best to use. So with that you are all set.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 11:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: Security 4 Vista???????????????????????????/

yeah but is the embedded firewall that good?????? same 4 the defender??????????

thats y i want an secuirty suite or just a firewall cuz kaspersky is compatible for vista and ive been with kaspersky and the ratings r good on it but thats just an anti-virus, on any xp system i use zonealarm and kaspersky there a great duo. but with zonealarm gone i just want a secuirty suite or a firewall
lilmil is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 01:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Security 4 Vista???????????????????????????/

There is only like 2 firewalls that are Vista compatable right now. Plus with Vista's new security (The UAC) you shouldnt have to much to worry about when it comes to hacks and drive-by isntalls. That is if you leave the UAC on.

There is only PC Tools that has a Vista firewall and a Vista Firewall add-on. Other than that there is no other one. Zone Alarm, Comodo and the rest are not yet Vista compatable. So you will have to wait. As far as the spyware...Defender should take care of you alright cause you shouldnt get too much. But if you do almost all the rest of the spyware applications still work.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.