Secure mode is slow as **** - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2003, 07:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 169
Default Secure mode is slow as ****

Ok im having trouble with secure mode in internet explorer....

Basically when i access a secure site it goes incredibly slow and im on broadband...its normally ok....i can browse non secure pages as usual and at normal speeds but secure pages its like having 56k again with a huge file being downloaded while opening a webpage..its horrible **cries**

Can anyone help me?

Im using internet explorer....

The problem was with Barlcays online banking so i jsut left it and the next day it was fine i assumed it was the site going wrong but now ive jsut tried to access o2 and its doing the same thing


Any Ideas?

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
Some System Specs:

Windows XP Service Pack 2
MXD 1600XB
CPU AMD Duron 1.6GHz
Memory 1.46GB DDR400 PC3200
HardDrive 40GB 7200rpm ATA133
Motherboard KM400 Chipset Skt A 333FSB
Graphics Card OnBoard 2D/3D Graphics
Sound Card OnBoard Sound
802.11b Wireless Network Card
Monitor GNR Flat Screen 15\"
Writer Combi - 52x32x52 CDRW + 16x DVD
Modem N/A - LAN 10/100 (Disabled)
Case Midi 300W ATX
Floppy 1.44MB 3.5\"
Keyboard A4TECH Wireless Keyboard
Mouse A4TECH Wireless Mouse
GNR Flat Screen LCD Monitor
97lt2959 is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

well maybe if you have the security up on the highest, it just takes a long time un-encrypting the pages? or scanneing or what not, u know what i mean?
__________________

__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 169
Default

Yeah i know what you mean but it was fine before nothings been changed or installed so i dunno wots gonig on...stupid computer
__________________
Some System Specs:

Windows XP Service Pack 2
MXD 1600XB
CPU AMD Duron 1.6GHz
Memory 1.46GB DDR400 PC3200
HardDrive 40GB 7200rpm ATA133
Motherboard KM400 Chipset Skt A 333FSB
Graphics Card OnBoard 2D/3D Graphics
Sound Card OnBoard Sound
802.11b Wireless Network Card
Monitor GNR Flat Screen 15\"
Writer Combi - 52x32x52 CDRW + 16x DVD
Modem N/A - LAN 10/100 (Disabled)
Case Midi 300W ATX
Floppy 1.44MB 3.5\"
Keyboard A4TECH Wireless Keyboard
Mouse A4TECH Wireless Mouse
GNR Flat Screen LCD Monitor
97lt2959 is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

If the problem is intermittent, and localized to one website (as you stated), I'd tend to blame the website... not my computer.

The bank's online banking server may have been running slowly, or it may have had a lot of traffic at the time.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 169
Default

No it was also doing it on the 02 website as stated in my first post
__________________
Some System Specs:

Windows XP Service Pack 2
MXD 1600XB
CPU AMD Duron 1.6GHz
Memory 1.46GB DDR400 PC3200
HardDrive 40GB 7200rpm ATA133
Motherboard KM400 Chipset Skt A 333FSB
Graphics Card OnBoard 2D/3D Graphics
Sound Card OnBoard Sound
802.11b Wireless Network Card
Monitor GNR Flat Screen 15\"
Writer Combi - 52x32x52 CDRW + 16x DVD
Modem N/A - LAN 10/100 (Disabled)
Case Midi 300W ATX
Floppy 1.44MB 3.5\"
Keyboard A4TECH Wireless Keyboard
Mouse A4TECH Wireless Mouse
GNR Flat Screen LCD Monitor
97lt2959 is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 11:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

is it just those 2 websites or is it everytrhing you go to?
what is your ISP and connection (eg dialup, cable)?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 04:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 169
Default

Im using freeserve broadband and as far as i can see its only these two sites...hotmail is working fine and that secure (supposed to be anyways), I think ill jsut put it down to those two sites

Thanks for the help everyone
__________________

__________________
Some System Specs:

Windows XP Service Pack 2
MXD 1600XB
CPU AMD Duron 1.6GHz
Memory 1.46GB DDR400 PC3200
HardDrive 40GB 7200rpm ATA133
Motherboard KM400 Chipset Skt A 333FSB
Graphics Card OnBoard 2D/3D Graphics
Sound Card OnBoard Sound
802.11b Wireless Network Card
Monitor GNR Flat Screen 15\"
Writer Combi - 52x32x52 CDRW + 16x DVD
Modem N/A - LAN 10/100 (Disabled)
Case Midi 300W ATX
Floppy 1.44MB 3.5\"
Keyboard A4TECH Wireless Keyboard
Mouse A4TECH Wireless Mouse
GNR Flat Screen LCD Monitor
97lt2959 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.