Second Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2005, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default Second Windows XP

I accidentally installed a second Windows XP on my new harddisk. Whenever I turned on my computer i could chose wich Windows I'd like to start. I formatted the new Harddisk again and everything on it (the second windows too) was deleted.

That's okay but: My computer still asks me which Windows I'd like to start when i turn it on. How do I get rid of this choice? I'd like to turn everything back to normal.

Hope you can help me, greetz Fury

btw: My operating system is Windows XP Home Edition
__________________

Fury23 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 11:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Go to Start / Run / type MSCONFIG / go to the boot.ini tab / click Check all boot paths and more than likely, one of those are invalid. When it finds it, it will ask you if you either want to delete it or remove it. Let me know if it works.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Correct me if i am wrong, please. I think you can boot from your windows cd, hit repair. Then after that you can type: '?'. It'll then tell you how to delete a boot path, and how to make one. Just delete the boot paths you do not want.
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 12:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default

cool, thank you Warez, it did actually work

close topic plz
Fury23 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 02:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Glad it worked.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.