Second operating system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 11:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default Second operating system

Recently I partitioned my hard drive. I have windows xp on my primary partition (C which was getting slow (4 years old), so I installed windows xp Media Centre edition on my second partition (D.

When I boot up I get asked which system I want to start. I now use the OS on the 2nd partition (D (media centre) and have now found that my computer runs a lot quicker.

Now I want to format my C: partition and use it for storing files and installing applications.

Could someone please tell me - if I format C: will my computer still boot and start the OS on the D: drive? I don't want to format C: if in doing so I'll delete files needed to start the OS on D:

Cheers
Sorry if its a stupid question.
__________________

BigMarkLeonard is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

if you want to be totally for sure, unhook your c drive and try to boot. if you can boot to your mcs, then you can
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your speedy response, however...

If I physically unhook my C Drive My D drive would be unhooked as well because they are on the same hard drive...
BigMarkLeonard is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I figured you were going to come back with something like that. Can you see the c: drive when you are on MCE? like in my computer or diskmanagement?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

The C drive still works perfectly, and I can see it on My Computer etc. Because my last version of windows is on it, I can even use it.

Both partitions are on the same hard drive - C and D each have their own version of windows, and can be used independently. I no longer need anything on C as long as deleting everything on that partition doesn't prevent the version of windows I have on D loading up
BigMarkLeonard is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 01:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

ok then....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.