Second Monitor and burn in - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2005, 06:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default Second Monitor and burn in

If I get a new video card, I will likely set up my 15 inch CRT as a second monitor. However, I will not be using it nearly all the time (in fact probably rarely), and a very concerend about burn in. I know I can simply turn the thing off when not using it, but I would like to have things like winamp running on it, so I need to have it on. Can I tell windows to turn off the monitor/engage a screen saver seperatly from my main?
Preferably, I want windows/my video drivers to do it, and not some small utility (I have a phobia about lots of random stuff running on my comp and degrading performance), but if there is one that seems to work well, I'd like to hear about it.
__________________

digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 544
Default

nope, your second monitor is seen as an extended desktop.

you could always run a visulization in winamp! although at full screen this will only run on your primary monitor.
__________________

fitzjj is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 07:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Unfortunate. LOL winamp viualizations take up a lot of CPU time. I am planning on running this monitor all the time, even while gaming, so that's not an option
I did manage to find something called ultramon, but it looks rather obese for what I need and it costs $40US.

EDIT: Should I really be that concerend about this? How long does it take a (oldish) monitor to burn in? Around 6 hours isn't it?
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 04:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by digitaloracle
Unfortunate. LOL winamp viualizations take up a lot of CPU time. I am planning on running this monitor all the time, even while gaming, so that's not an option
I did manage to find something called ultramon, but it looks rather obese for what I need and it costs $40US.

EDIT: Should I really be that concerend about this? How long does it take a (oldish) monitor to burn in? Around 6 hours isn't it?
Only if the image is a static image, with some kind of pronounced lines or shapes to it.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 03:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

There is not going to be a lot going on on this monitor. 99% of the time, it will be displaying winamp and my desktop background (a detailed image). I am sometimes at my computer for many hours at a time, but for now let's assume I am there 24/7 and the screensaver NEVER comes on and that monitor is displaying the above items 24/7, with the only changes being the song info on the winamp bar. What special considerations do I need to make?
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 04:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

You dont need to worry about burn in anymore. That was with old monitors. As technology evolved, the burn in problem left. Newer monitors you dont need to worry about that at all.
Him is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 05:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

I say just turn the brightness right down very low to minimise any burn effects.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 05:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Him, it was made in mid-1998. Is that new enough? The thing is not sheilded very well, if that is any hint of it's sophistication.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 06:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah, thats fine. Burn in really ended when monochrome ended. Burn in is nothign that anyone has to worry about anymore, unless your monitor is from the eighties.
Him is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 06:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

mind if i ask.. then why do we have screen savers? (im not trying to be ignorant or sarcastic sorry, it does sound that way) i dont think burn in is a problem though i am wondering why... ppl just like them i guess..
i dont see a reason itd be like that anymore so i wouldn't worry bout it.. just as HIM said technology is advanced.
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.