search doesnt work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 03:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default search doesnt work

I'm working on a computer that the search, and windows updates icons dont work. I can use my keyboard shortcuts to get to search and ie to get the updates but the lady said she want the buttons in her start menu to work. I have run virus scan and adaware but nothing has helped this issue.
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

go to start, run, type in sfc /scannow press enter. The tells Windows to perform a complete Windows file check and replace any missing or corrupt OS files to original Microsoft specifications. Note that you'll need the Windows XP CD to complete this task.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default

sweeet. Thanks alot dude
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 03:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

sure thing...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Sorry. But the scan just ran and finsihed but the buttons are still not working..... Got another idea?
__________________
Dell Dimension 3000, Win 2000 pro, BEFW11S4 Linksys router.
jamie7823 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 07:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Search

add this reg entry, and reboot
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.