Scroll Lock: Yet another stupid question from Emily - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2003, 12:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,179
Send a message via AIM to Emily
Default Scroll Lock: Yet another stupid question from Emily

Someone explained it to me once, but I can't remember and it's bugging me: What the heck does scroll lock do?
__________________

Emily is offline  
Old 09-11-2003, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

Tell me if this helps:

http://www.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scroll_lock
__________________

__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 09-12-2003, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Very Interesting:amazed:
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 09-12-2003, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default Re: Scroll Lock: Yet another stupid question from Emily

Quote:
Originally posted by Emily
Someone explained it to me once, but I can't remember and it's bugging me: What the heck does scroll lock do?
This is not a dumb question, actually I think it was a really good one.

Five years of programming, and I've never known exactly what the scroll lock key did.

Don't be ashamed of yourself !
__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Old 09-12-2003, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Thumbs up

I didn't.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 09-12-2003, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

Nor did I. Your question just aroused my curiousity and I decided to google the query. I came upon that link within a couple seconds of searching.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 09-12-2003, 10:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Thumbs up

Yeah Google!!!!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 09-13-2003, 12:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,179
Send a message via AIM to Emily
Default

Heh thanks guys. So, basically, it does nothing except in Excel? Hmm...
__________________
www.upstark.com
Emily is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 12:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

I know Linksys KVMs use double-tapping scroll lock to switch between computers.. other than that, I never use my scroll lock key.
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.