Screensavers and dual screens - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2006, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Question Screensavers and dual screens

I'm not sure if I'm posting this question in the correct place, so forgive me if I'm not. I have dual screens and am running XP Home. The XP screensavers work on both screens, but I have a couple of other 3D screensavers that I really love, but they don't work on both screens. Does anyone know how to make that happen? The screensavers are 3D Winter Screensaver and 3D Solar System Screensaver. Thanks.
__________________

machado17 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Do you have you monitors set up to work as 1 big desktop or are they set up to work seperate from each other?

That is the deciding factor on how it is going to be done. Also is you setup with 1 Video Card or 2?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Default

I think I know where you're going with this, because I was messing around with the settings on my video card. I only have one, an NVIDIA GForce. I noticed that if I make it be one big desktop, the screensaver will stretch across both. But now I have to get used to that configuration. I was hoping to keep them as two seperate monitors and somehow get the screensaver to turn on at the same time on both, but seperately, so it wouldn't look distorted. It's either not possible, or I can't figure it out.
machado17 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what happens if you uncheck stretch my desktop to the computer?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Default

If I do not stretch the desktop, the monitors function seperately. The mouse travels across them both, but it shows whatever I chose for the desktop picture seperately on each monitor. However, when the screensaver comes on, it's only on one monitor and the other monitor continues to display the desktop. I leave my computer on all day and that's why I'd like the screensaver to work on both screens. I downloaded one that claims that it works with dual screens, but all it does is center itself in the middle where the two screens meet and it doesn't really look nice.
machado17 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

instead of streching (extend) the moniter, Clone it instead
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Default

I tried cloning it also, but then I end up with two of everything.... meaning that every time I open an application, it opens up on both screens. That's not really functional for me, since I'm using the dual screens to multi-task and run different applications on each.

I'm surprised that the screensaver software developers haven't really addressed this yet. Many people use dual screens. I know of some people who have more than two. Microsoft has designed the XP screensavers to work on both, so I'm sure the others could too.
machado17 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you are asking a lot. you want one part to extend but the other part to clone (the screen saver part). MS develop the software, so they know that people want this feature, but a screen saver software developers might not have it hook up to dual monitors
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 07:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Default

I think, I'll leave the desktop stretched. So the screensaver will be on both monitors, even though it's a bit distorted. Guess I'll have to wait for the screensaver developers to take this into consideration in the future. But thanks for your help.
machado17 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 08:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well i can say that the only way to get 2 desktops and 2 screensavers is to use 2 Video Cards. Other than that you are either cloning or stretching. There is a way to force a new desktop and that on the second monitor but i dont know for sure how to do it. Other than that you are stuck like me using one desktop image for both.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.