screensaver password - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2004, 03:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default screensaver password

How can I enable screensaver password in win XP?
__________________

linux1880 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,179
Send a message via AIM to Emily
Default

Right-click on the Desktop, click Properties. In the ScreenSaver tab, check "On resume, display Welcome screen".
__________________

__________________
www.upstark.com
Emily is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

On WinXP it says "On Resume password protect"
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 11:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

Hi there! Go to start then controle panal then disblay(appearance and themes) if your using xp and went to appearence and themes click disblay then screen saver tab and you should see a little box saying on resume, pasword protect
XT is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477
Default

one thing i sugest is do a second administrator whit full control and without password!!!!!
later you can deleted and be on the safe side
__________________
EL VAQUERO
_________________
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
http://img44.photobucket.com/albums/...vantar_gif.gif
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 04-19-2004, 10:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

you also have to create a user account with a password. if you set up xp with no user log-in (as in, it just goes right into window) you wont have the option to password protect. However, once you goto start/settings/control panel/users and passwords.... then create a user and make a password. Now you should be able to choose to "On resume password protect."
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-20-2004, 12:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jaun1477
one thing i sugest is do a second administrator whit full control and without password!!!!!
later you can deleted and be on the safe side
As long as you dont mind becomming an easy target
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 06:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

actually, instead of making admin password, download a ERD/password recovery. have to do it while you remember the current password, wont work if you forget the password and THEN download it, as it contains many pwl to get into it.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.