Screensaver password - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2006, 02:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default Screensaver password

How do i put a password on a screensaver my laptop is windows xp Home edtion is this possible? i know it can be done wit windows xp pro and windows 98 can it?
__________________

william232 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 03:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Go into the display properties in the control panel then the screen saver tab. You will see the option to turn the password on.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 03:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default

I Do not see the psassword option even if i go into settings
william232 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 12:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Default

here is it brother!

legal_xp is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 04:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default

all i see is

On Resume,Display Welcome Screen
william232 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by william232
all i see is

On Resume,Display Welcome Screen
I believe that does the same thing, I also have it say "On Resume, Display Welcome Screen". I might be wrong.

Also I think you have to change the way you login I think for it to work. I'll take a look into it since I'm on a Windows machine right now.
Law is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Just password-protect your account, assuming that's what you want...?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 05:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I just varified that you need to change the way you login in order to get that "On, resume. Password protect"

Go to control panel>User Accounts. Select "Change the way users log on or off" and uncheck "Use the Welcome screen" and apply the option.
Law is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default

its just for 2nite because i am going to my girlfriends party all music is gonna be played off my laptop thanks

Now,How can i set the password so when the screensaver it asks for password?
william232 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 05:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by william232
its just for 2nite because i am going to my girlfriends party all music is gonna be played off my laptop thanks

Now,How can i set the password so when the screensaver it asks for password?
The password is from your account password. So you need to password protect your account, the screen saver just lock your desktop and requires you to put in your password for your account or an administrative account to unlock it.
__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.