Screen is still going black for a few seconds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2007, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 144
Default Screen is still going black for a few seconds

In hardware I posted about how my screen will go black for a few seconds.

I updated my drivers for my video Card (gforce FX 5500) and it was still happening.

I go the new frost wire and it seems to not happen anymore when I run that.

However when I use DIVX and Windows Media player to watch videos it flashes and just now I got a pop up ad and my computer flashed black twice. I never use Real Media but there aren't any flashing issues with Real Player like there is with DIVX and WMP.

Yesterday my system rebooted after several flashes.

Is this a Memory issue? Driver/software conflict could my mother board be on the brink of Falure?

I have no idea what to do now.

I have a Gig of Ram, Gforce FX 5500, XP Pro running with a 3GHZ Pentium 4.

Besides these flashes of black everything else seems to be ok.
__________________

MichiyoYoshiku is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Screen is still going black for a few seconds

sounds like a bad video card
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 144
Default Re: Screen is still going black for a few seconds

Yeah on top of the random flashes I get a "book tear" effect when I use Emulators like MAME and ZSNES. Genesis games run horribly.

Think I should call the guys that built my System and see if I can have a new card switched in?
MichiyoYoshiku is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 05:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Screen is still going black for a few seconds

The card sounds bad. See if you can get a replacement or a new one. With the system specs you listed you should be able to use something more than a FX 5500 though. Espically if you are a gamer.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 144
Default Re: Screen is still going black for a few seconds

I'm not much of a PC gamer. I do all my gaming upstiars (mouse and keyboard aren't my thing)

So how much should a new Graphics card cost us?

2-300 for card equal to the FX 5500?

Should we go ATI? this is the 2nd time an Nvidia card has gone bad on us.
MichiyoYoshiku is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Screen is still going black for a few seconds

nVidia cards are actually the better now. ATi after they were bought out from AMD have gone down the drain. At least IMO.

It all depends. What capacity are you looking for? 128MB, 256MB?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 144
Default Re: Screen is still going black for a few seconds

256mb would probably be best

A capture card would be nice.
MichiyoYoshiku is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Screen is still going black for a few seconds

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichiyoYoshiku View Post
256mb would probably be best

A capture card would be nice.
those are 2 separate things except in the ati allinwonders.

microcenter sell 256mb nvidia 7800 cards for 80 bucks. if this one goes out, get a new mobo
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 08:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 144
Default Re: Screen is still going black for a few seconds

alrighty thanks I e-mailed the guys that built my system and see what they think.
__________________

MichiyoYoshiku is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange black screen problem flashychap Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 05-27-2007 05:59 PM
Atom smasher may give birth to 'Black Saturns' TheEnd187 New Technology and Products 0 05-27-2007 03:29 AM
Fix for black screen in Nintendo Wii virtual console games Osiris Nintendo 0 05-24-2007 08:13 AM
Black Startup Screen in XP doodah12 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-22-2007 03:38 PM
Screen stays black.... Cajete Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 08:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.