Screen Saver tab in Display Properties Failure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2004, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to steve_swv
Default Screen Saver tab in Display Properties Failure

I've been having this error message come up while I try to use the Screen Saver tab in my Display properties. When ever I click on it I recieve this message:

Run a DLL as an App has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience

Its very strange and while my screen saver does work it doesn't allow me to change it from what it was before because I can no longer access the settings page for it. There is also an error log created in applications log after this error occurs and it looks like this:

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application Error
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Date: 10/24/2004
Time: 12:56:46 PM
User: N/A
Computer: EQMACHINE
Description:
Faulting application rundll32.exe, version 5.1.2600.2180, faulting module themeui.dll, version 6.0.2800.1106, fault address 0x0001f729.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74 Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c ion Fail
0010: 75 72 65 20 20 72 75 6e ure run
0018: 64 6c 6c 33 32 2e 65 78 dll32.ex
0020: 65 20 35 2e 31 2e 32 36 e 5.1.26
0028: 30 30 2e 32 31 38 30 20 00.2180
0030: 69 6e 20 74 68 65 6d 65 in theme
0038: 75 69 2e 64 6c 6c 20 36 ui.dll 6
0040: 2e 30 2e 32 38 30 30 2e .0.2800.
0048: 31 31 30 36 20 61 74 20 1106 at
0050: 6f 66 66 73 65 74 20 30 offset 0
0058: 30 30 31 66 37 32 39 0d 001f729.
0060: 0a .

I've been having this problem for maybe 3weeks now and searching the internet hasn't proven useful. Also this problem occured during a time in which I had a bad RAM card in so it might be a problem created by that either way I dont know how to fix it and any suggestion would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Steven
__________________

steve_swv is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Download a free screensaver from the internet. Scan it for virusses. Install it. Go to display properties, select a different screensaver. Uninstall the downloaded screensaver.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 11:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to steve_swv
Default

Actually im not using any third party downloaded screen savers, Im just using the basic scrolling marquee ATM nothing special. But I cant access the screen saver tab in the display properties to change any of the settings.
steve_swv is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 11:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You should try a third party screensaver/install it and see if you can access the settings afterwards.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 11:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to steve_swv
Default

Ok i'll download that and check to see if I can access it then but i've gtg do something now so ill post as soon as I get a chance to try that out
steve_swv is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 12:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to steve_swv
Default

Actually i got a chance to check it out and I got this error after the initial install:

An exception occurred while trying to run "desk, cpl, Install Screen Saver C:\WINDOWS\Frosty Goes Skiing.scr"

Then I went to try the screen saver tab in display properties and still got the same error, so it didn't chage anything.
steve_swv is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 01:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to steve_swv
Default

So has anyone else had this kind of problem before? cause its a wierd one for me and the people i've talked to.
steve_swv is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 02:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 324
Default

you didnt specify which os but i know of a fix for 98 and ME.
open control panel, choose add/remove programs. go to windows setup then select accessories, then get the details. remove the screensvaers from the list, reboot your pc.
then basically go back in there and reinstall it.
keep in mind you will need your windows cd to accomplish this task
__________________

sunsider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.