Screen saver - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2006, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default Screen saver

My computer will not allow my screen saver to come on I have tried several times to set it up and nothing happens. Is there any other settings beside the one under control panel/display? I start having this problem after I reformatted my hard drive would that have anything to do with my screen saver not coming on?
__________________

Knipper is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

haw many minutes do you have it set too?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 03:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

1 min, or 3 min it does not matter it will not come on.
Knipper is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

go to start, run, type msconfig, go to startup and post me a screen shot. Sounds like something is keeping it from be activated by being active on your system when your not using it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 03:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

I went to misconfig all boxes are checked on each tab and here is what says in my boot ini:

Boot Ini:
[bootloader]
default = mult (0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINNDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)partion(1)\WINNT='microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdectect/NotExecute=Optin
Knipper is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

go to msconfig>startup and click disable all, go back and recheck your antivirus and reboot. Now see if it will work
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.