SB Live! 'Surround Mixer 2' - Can't Get it Open! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 02:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default SB Live! 'Surround Mixer 2' - Can't Get it Open!

I have an SB Live! Digital card and cannot get my Surround Mixer 2 program to open. When I first installed the program it worked fine, but at some point just randomly would not open. I tried to reinstall it from the menu the CD opens up when u put it in, but it would error out. I had to manually go into the directories on the Drivers CD and into the SurMix2 folder to install it. It then worked fine for about 2-3 weeks, but now randomly wont open again. Tried reinstalling it again, but to no avail, wont open at all now. Hard drive makes sounds as if its trying to access the program, but after a few seconds it stops and nothing appears, yet SurMix2 is running in my processes list. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

s37d is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Uncheck it from msconfig, reboot and then try to start it.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default

Where exactly in MSconfig? I see the tabs General, System.ini, Win.ini, Boot.ini, Services and Startup
s37d is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Startup tab, last tab to your right of msconfig. click disable all but leave only essential programs running like FW and AV.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default

Just tried it and it didn't work, the processes I left running were:
CTHelper
UpdReg
NvCpl
nwiz
NvMcTray
gcasServ
dumprep 0 -k
dumprep 0 -u

Wasn't sure if it was safe to disable any of these, let me know what you think, thanks.
s37d is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 07:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Have you uninstalled the application before you tried to reinstall it? That might be what is causing this issue over and over again. I see that you said you installed it after it stopped working but never specified if you tried to uninstall first. It might be that if you didnt uninstall first that the files that are relavent to run the app are overwritten but then after setting it up the way you want it gets the glitch again cause of something that is still installed from a previous attempt.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 07:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default

Yea I uninstalled first, using Add/Remove programs in control panel. Also deleted the whole Creative folder manually.
s37d is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 07:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Have you tried to uninstall the creative drivers and use driver cleaner and then install it all again? Also have you checked for updated versions from creative to see if there was a bug in the version you are using that they have fixed? Just throwing some ideas out there.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 07:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default

I think I uninstalled the drivers not exactly sure, and no I didnt use driver cleaner whatever that is. I downloaded the drivers and surround mixer from creative site but it said I didnt have creative software on my system or a creative card in my pc, which obviously pissed me off because its lying. And the drivers work fine, I'm assuming anyway, since I can play audio. Its just this one program Surround Mixer 2 that I can't get to function, and I need it to switch from digital speakers to headphones, since I have each one different jacks.
s37d is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 11:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I remember that problem with the creative drivers. I dont remember the exact way to fix this. I will try and find some answers for ya and post back when i find something.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.