Say you buy a new computer with Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2006, 07:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Say you buy a new computer with Windows XP

and you don't make a backup of the operating system, so you have no CD available with the OS on it.

How can you manually go back into it and make a backup?
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

nlite or slipstream... oh wait... I think you need the disk for both of those.


Do you have a friend you can borrow the disk from?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

sometimes they have a recovery partition. if you boot into the DOS like environment, you can restore it.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

It's not my computer. A relative bought a new laptop and got too excited to use it so they skipped the OS burning step. When they told me this I thought, well ****, what are you gonna do if you need to reinstall windows?

They restarted and nothing happened, they weren't prompted about it.

I think this is kinda stupid for Microsoft to do. I hope they're getting an assload of calls about this.
__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 10:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you can do it if you have an i386 folder on you c drive.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 06:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

when you say "skipped the burning of the OS" sounds like its one of those ones that only create restore CD's. i reckon it has one of those partitions you can restore it from aswell like my parents pc that was pre built. worst come to worst you can call the manufactorere and theyll send you restore CD's
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 06:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Yeah look for another partition with the i386 folder on it...
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.