saving files with same name - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2007, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default saving files with same name

Hi,

Sometimes I download photos to the same folder and the photos have the same name. Therefore windows asks me if I want to replace the new with the old. I therefore have to modify the name to save.

Not a big deal but when doing alot of photo work its a hassle.

I would ideally like to just add the files and they get named as I add them. Maybe from 1,2,3.....etc.

Another problem is when I want to merge 2 existing folders that have files named the same. Ideally if they could all just be renamed that would be great.

Is ther any thing I could use which exists in XP Pro?
Or are there any simple free programs that would not be resources hogs.

Any suggestions would be great!

thanks
__________________

__________________
My Rig: "Sandy" used for stock trading
Windows 7 pro
Case-Corsair Obsidian550D
Motherboard- ASrock X79Xtreme6 LGA 2011
CPU- I7-3930K Sandy
PSU- Seasonic X650 Gold
SSD- Corsair Neutron GTX240
HD- WD 1TB Sata6 64MB
Ram-Corsair Vengeance 16gb (4x4gb)
GPU- 3x EVGA Geforce GT-640 2GB 128B
Cooling- Monsoon S2 & SwiftechMCP655-PWM
Alphacool 80mmx120mm rad
XSPC RX120 rad
3 Noctua 140mm
5 120mm Gentle typhoons
NZXT fan controller
Razer Black Widow Chroma keyboard
Razer deathadder chroma mouse
4x27", 2x19", 1x24", 1x36" & 1x55" monitors
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 12:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/fil...scription.html
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 01:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default

Thanks I am trying it now

I have downloaded 4 apps sofar. None do what I need.
__________________
My Rig: "Sandy" used for stock trading
Windows 7 pro
Case-Corsair Obsidian550D
Motherboard- ASrock X79Xtreme6 LGA 2011
CPU- I7-3930K Sandy
PSU- Seasonic X650 Gold
SSD- Corsair Neutron GTX240
HD- WD 1TB Sata6 64MB
Ram-Corsair Vengeance 16gb (4x4gb)
GPU- 3x EVGA Geforce GT-640 2GB 128B
Cooling- Monsoon S2 & SwiftechMCP655-PWM
Alphacool 80mmx120mm rad
XSPC RX120 rad
3 Noctua 140mm
5 120mm Gentle typhoons
NZXT fan controller
Razer Black Widow Chroma keyboard
Razer deathadder chroma mouse
4x27", 2x19", 1x24", 1x36" & 1x55" monitors
cliffhucker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.